RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

187 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Feb 28, 2013 at 4:03:35 AM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#1

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


An iT freind of mine has been raving about Microsoft Surface laptops or tablets. this is the best I can find about the graphics it has. 

Surface with Windows 8 Pro is a 64-bit tablet PC that combines beauty, power, and mobility. Available with up to 128GB of storage and powered by an Intel Core i5 processor, Surface with Windows 8 Pro is a powerful machine. Weighing 2 lbs. under and at only 13.5mm thin, it’s the perfect way to do more.

Intel HD Graphics 4000

Do any of you know if this machine would run Revit 2012 well enough! I am not expecting fast rendering just a good workable machine, I would use two screens. Or mabe even just one bigger (than24")

What do you think??


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 28, 2013 at 9:23:12 PM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


Here are the minimum requirements to run Revit

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/revit/system-requirements/ 


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 1, 2013 at 4:56:28 PM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#3

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


im not 100% sure why you would want a tablet to work on another monitor... for $1000 you can buy a pc and monitor that will be great for revit. if you are doing a lot of CA the surface would be handy but not for daily use.


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Mar 2, 2013 at 3:23:34 AM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#4

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Sorry for being frivolus here but I was inquiring as I am probably going to get a new laptop for portability between offices & home as my "good" old one is really too old & does not really drive Revit very well. As at the start of this thread a friend of mine noted/raved about the Surface. But even on second thoughts the screen would still be too small cos one would probably use it on its own now & then. I am in need to upgrade both of my machines as they are about 5 yrs old & really I do not need the total portability of the surface, its not like I am cycling to work with my laptop in my funky bag!!!


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 4, 2013 at 6:49:26 PM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#5

ivanjay205


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 18, 2012
19 Posts
No Rating


To continue on this thread if we can....  I have been searching about convertibles and ultrabooks with Revit.

 

I am a road warrior traveling often.  I would love to get a machine that could support Revit and CAD but give me the flexibility to also use it on a plane where it actually fits on the tray.

I do not use Revit and CAD often, normally just opening to review and tweak.  I currently have a Dell Precision M2400 which is getting sluggish.

 

Not sure if one of those other systems could keep up


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 1:52:05 AM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#6

hugh


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 27, 2004
80 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Based on a recent flight I'm not sure there's enough room in cattleclass to unfurl a laptop, even a small, light one like the Lenovo T430s discussed in depth here:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/Multiple-monitors-with-T430s-Nvidia/td-p/776971 

which indicates a tradeoff between weight, batterylife and graphics capacities has been fought out to a imperfect result. Main casualty being its ability to drive as many screens as did the earlier T40s model.

I operate a T420s with Intel 3000 graphics where Revit runs well enough for programming puproses.


-----------------------------------

Hugh Adamson

www.hatchkit.com.au

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 2:10:38 AM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#7

ivanjay205


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 18, 2012
19 Posts
No Rating


based on all of the reading I have doing the general consensus seems to be that getting anything other than a system with a quadro graphics card is asking for trouble.

 

I think I am going to bite the bullet and stay with a performance laptop.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 22, 2013 at 10:29:21 PM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#8

rrbryce


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 27, 2012
3 Posts
No Rating


I have a surface pro and I use it all day for my revit models. It works fine. I attach a 27 inch hp monitor to it. I don't render with it. I have a dedicated Alienware computer to handle the rendering tasks. The surface pro is really awesome. The pen is the most amazing piece. Feels like writing on silk and the recognition is excellent. don't know how to use that feature as a tool yet. It does get warm and is noticeably heavier than an iPad. Bob

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 22, 2013 at 10:30:04 PM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#9

rrbryce


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 27, 2012
3 Posts
No Rating


Forgot to mention. I use revit 2014 Bob

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 28, 2013 at 2:10:07 PM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#10

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


There's always the ASUS AiO Transformer.  Its like an 18 inch tablet that runs Windows 8 Pro as well as Android 4.2.  I believe when docked you get access to an 3rd Gen i7 and nvidia graphics card.  As long as you have an internet connection you can use it remotely, away from home.....I THINK.  

$1100-$1200?

Should be able to run revit except for the bugginess of minor windows 8 issues conflicting with it.

 

Cheers


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jun 29, 2013 at 6:28:21 AM | New Microsoft Surface - Laptop

#11

Astroboy13


active
Astroboy13 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 28, 2013
14 Posts
No Rating


Don't forget, you can always rending in the cload with Autodesk 360. Rendering is the most graphics intense operation anyhow.


-----------------------------------

Onwards and Upward!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Microsoft Surface Pro 4 & Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Apr 17, 2016 at 5:03:25 PM

1

Want to buy a Laptop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:26:53 PM

14

Microsoft Surface Pro

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Sep 15, 2014 at 2:45:58 AM

0

Help me recover my Samsung Laptop

Community >> The Studio

Sun, Sep 2, 2012 at 1:23:36 AM

2

old laptop

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Jul 10, 2007 at 5:37:15 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1474181

Objects:

21057

Forum Posts:

151021

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4721

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights