RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

179 Users Online (55 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 7:12:02 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#1

URZAIZ87


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 31, 2011
4 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi there, I'm using revit architecture 2013, it's supposed to have revit structure integrated with it right?

We'll if it doesn't we know the problem right from the start.. lol

Still, my question:

I'm learning how to make the structure design in a testing project and i'm using universal steel "I" columns and beams, but when i'm mixing it with concrete columns it's supposed to use a steel plate on the column to weld the steel beam to it. I don't know where or how to create or put that plate.

Any sugestions?

Do i have to model as something else the plate and insert it or is there any specific task revit can do? I saw in a video on youtube some guy using extensions to do this but i don't know where did he get those extensions cause i can't even se the ribbon he picked on my own revit.

Link to youtube video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-AGJeMCfhY

Sorry if this is a newbie question, still learning...

*Image attached.



Attached Images

116780_Problem.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 7:35:07 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#2

URZAIZ87


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 31, 2011
4 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Anyone...??


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 8:00:51 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#3

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Revit Architecture 2013 does not have Structure it is just architecture.  There are some structure commands but its not structure. 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 8:03:17 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I would not model steel connections unless you really need to see it in 3D.  I would just use detail components for this in a drafting view.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 8:06:12 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#5

URZAIZ87


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 31, 2011
4 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Hmm.. that's half true since i just checked and it's supposed to include in building design suite all structural functions even analytical model. I just found this site in autodesk with the extensions i was looking for, you just install it and when you open revit the extensions ribbon shows with a "steel connections" just like in the vid i linked above.

https://students.autodesk.com/?nd=revit_extensions



Attached Images

116789_Revit_Extensions.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 8:44:16 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


"revit architecture 2013, it's supposed to have revit structure integrated with it right?"

WRONG- Revit architecture is Revit architecture and does not include Structure or MEP. The building designe suite DOES include architectural, MEP and structure.  There are a lot of different add-ons for Revit that you can apply.

 

You asked how to model the steel plate connections.. my answer is still I WOULD NOT model them unless absolutly necessary, I would just use detail components for this.  If you model every connection it is going to bog down your computer.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 9:18:10 PM | Steel beam to steel/concrete column fixture (Noob question)

#7

URZAIZ87


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 31, 2011
4 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Hmm, interesting. I installed the design suite and i don't seem to have any other revit than the architectural one.. but the architecture has the structure an MEP ribbons as well as the libraries. I downloaded the extensions and it works with steel connections but it doesn't for concrete-steel.

I get it, you'd rather make a plan with the detailed conection, i'd do to if that was the case, but what i want is to show on 3d model the detailed join between those two (concrete column-steel beam)

Here's the image of how i solved the steel only conections.



Attached Images

116795_Steel_join.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

revit steel questions

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 2:27:20 PM

0

Lineweight of steel column in coarse view

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 12:25:48 AM

6

Concrete pad footing moves with steel column

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 13, 2013 at 4:58:07 AM

4

Aligning top of column to top of beams that are set out by bottom of steel

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 6:35:41 PM

1

how to steel concrete floors?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 1, 2009 at 2:25:01 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1632442

Objects:

22066

Forum Posts:

151652

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7504

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights