RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

173 Users Online (58 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Timber Framing

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 26, 2006 at 4:05:30 AM | Timber Framing

#1

Padraig


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 20, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


Anyone use Revit for Timber Frame design? I need some tips. I'm in a class, we have to design a small/moderate residential structure, and I want to do a timber framed house.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 27, 2006 at 1:59:22 AM | RE: Timber Framing

#2

Rythmick


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 23, 2004
160 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I would aproach the timber frame using solid extrusions as "in place families" sketched in an elevation or section view. Model / Create / Solid / Extrusion.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 27, 2006 at 8:49:53 AM | RE: Timber Framing

#3

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


I would just create an external family for your timber stud with parameters for width length and height, not hard to do and will work much better in your model. exesive use of in place families will slow you down quite a bit... Smile

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 27, 2006 at 4:28:03 PM | RE: Timber Framing

#4

Rythmick


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 23, 2004
160 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I would perhaps use external family created members for the bay purlins or rafters, but I would create each bent assembly as in place families and not mess with joining family beams to create a bent. You can copy or array a completed bent as needed per section.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 27, 2006 at 5:05:41 PM | RE: Timber Framing

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


I second eldados view that all the families should be done exteranl to the project in the family editor. The basic rule of thumb for in-place families in Revit is that they occur only once in the project, are unique to the project and will never be copied or used anywhere else ever again. If you new to the family editor it can be daunting. Rembember though that you do not have to create everything parametric, so just doing the non-parametric form in the family editor then loading into your project will vastly improve performance and ability to control the objects.

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 27, 2006 at 6:15:51 PM | RE: Timber Framing

#6

Padraig


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 20, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


OK, any idea how to "create external families?" I've been messing around with solid extrusions and have had some luck with getting a mortice to show up. The problem is that for some reason I can't dimension the depth. Length and width of the beam are fine. The text for the dimensions on the mortice are way too big and one actually blocks the element. I have only been able to create through mortices. As for showing the connections (mortice on one beam, tenon on the other) it's been nothing short of frustrating. I haven't been able to modify the end of the extrusion without getting error messages. When I deal specifically with "structural/timber" beams, they won't but up together. I was told this is because they assume there's a column in the middle? In plan, I have to show them butted up, but the dimensions have to be correct lengthwise for the amount of the beam that, for instance, passes into the ground sill.

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 9, 2006 at 2:04:39 PM | RE: Timber Framing

#7

3ddraft


active

Joined: Mon, May 8, 2006
8 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I just started learning revit 8. However, my job is at a custom timberframe builder. What I have found to be the easiest and fastest to create the initial frame has been to sketch and extrude the entire model in AutoCad. Then importing the model into revit. Again, I have just started learning the programs so if there is a better way to do this, let me know. I just thought I'd offer my two cents. Post edited on 2006-05-09 09:13:43

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Timber framing in Revit?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 18, 2004 at 4:46:22 PM

0

Curtain wall for timber/steel framing

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, May 27, 2010 at 7:18:33 AM

5

Cut Pattern - Timber Columns in plan views to black ?

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 12:41:46 AM

3

How to make a curved timber batten wall?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 7, 2011 at 10:49:49 AM

1

Timber Frame Roo

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 20, 2015 at 10:00:53 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1650351

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151696

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0609

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights