RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

240 Users Online (107 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> VG Revit Links (Internal)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 7:52:08 PM | VG Revit Links (Internal)

#1

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I can't seem to find any informatoin on this...

Under VG Revit Links there is a [+] and under this is an (Internal) that also controls Revit Links, what is this for? 

 

See Image

 

Thanks



Attached Images

115805_Internal.png

-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 8:02:04 PM | VG Revit Links (Internal)

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


This additional check box is for each instance of the Link. If a link gets copied a new check box would appear. There can be multiple instances of a link in a project.

 

Here is a link to explain it further if needed http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?114935-Revit-sub-link 



Edited on: Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 2:03:10 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 8:30:46 PM | VG Revit Links (Internal)

#3

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I almost understand.  If I link in a model I get both the master and the Sub-VG (Internal) the internal doesn't mean anything and can be ingnored (per thread you directed me too), but if the link gets copied it create second sub-VG controller.  (which I tested and it does)

So now I have 3 Sub-VG, the Main, Internal and Not Shared, I can understand the logic because of Xrefs from AutoCAD, but I don't understand why it defaults to Main and a sub VG when the link is not copied then creates a second Sub with a copy.  And I am not sure who copies links anyway, the files we work with are so large that Revit Runs at snail speed anyway, copying links would be the last thing we would want to do.

 

 


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 8:35:09 PM | VG Revit Links (Internal)

#4

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


If I didn't copy a link how would I use the (Internal), why would I use it?

 

Thanks


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 8:44:53 PM | VG Revit Links (Internal)

#5

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


Ok, my buddy here in the office found the answer...  See attachment

 

Make perfect sence to me now, cool feature



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 9:05:18 PM | VG Revit Links (Internal)

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


Nice link thank you, I will actually send this around my office because I know this question has come up before.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Internal Parameters..?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 3:51:15 PM

10

Trouble converting links to groups

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 25, 2016 at 5:12:21 AM

0

Internal Point, Line and Area Loads...Internal???

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 10:59:06 AM

3

MANAGE LINKS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 10, 2009 at 1:41:25 PM

3

Internal Elevation Markers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 25, 2010 at 9:32:30 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457022

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5362

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights