RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

162 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Revit Export to CAD

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 9:13:29 PM | Revit Export to CAD

#1

grandeap


active
grandeap Avatar

Joined: Wed, May 16, 2012
5 Posts
No Rating


So in my project I have gone through and set up the export settings so that when I export to CAD the Revit elements should be on the proper layers and colors. The issues that I am running into that become time consuming to fix are as follows:

1. After exporting I still have to open the CAD file, select everything, and change the color option to "by layer" in order for everything to be on the color I set it up to be in the Revit export settings.

2. Generic models and category models such as doors and windows export to the correct layer name, but are assigned a random color when they are on an existing layer rather than the color that I intended to have in my settings.

Is there an export setting that I am missing in Revit to prevent this from happening, so that when I export to CAD I don't have to touch the file, or at least only have to do minimal clean up on?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 9:29:51 PM | Revit Export to CAD

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Did you try reading your HELP?  NO

 

Try reading this section "Exporting to DWG or DXF" and pay attention to :  "Layer Mapping for DWG/DXF Export".....

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 9:12:37 AM | Revit Export to CAD

#3

Badkube


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 30, 2012
10 Posts
No Rating


I know this is an old thread, but....

Revit City comes up a lot when you search for answers to problems concerning Revit - there is clearly a wealth of expertise on here but the number of times you go to a thread only to find a terse reply from WWHub saying 'use your help file' is unreal. It really comes across as the most unwelcoming of responses.  Sometimes I'm amazed anyone posts anything at all.

WWHub do you not realise that sometimes people need things explained in a different manner from what is in the help file???


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 1:35:51 PM | Revit Export to CAD

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I find that people that actually read their Help first either say so or by the way they asked their question, we can tell they at least tried.  In this tread, the answer to the poster's question is so easy to find by simply typing in DWG in the HELP search.  The second item on the list is " "Export to DWG or DXF" and under that topic you see:

# 3  In the Modify DWG/DXF Export Setup dialog, specify export options on the following tabs as needed, and then click OK.

 

Your going to suggest that this poster had actually looked ????? Everybody can easily see that they had not even tried to help themselves and that's a waste of our time.  BTW - This poster had two earlier questions which were good questions and they got good answers.

 

I really have no respect for anybody that is not willing to do at least the minimum amount of work to answer their own question.  Maybe thinking you use others first is how it is now for this generation.  I think this attitude is a big mistake.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit export to CAD

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Oct 4, 2010 at 9:43:05 PM

3

I canĀ“t export from revit to cad.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jan 18, 2013 at 3:10:32 PM

1

export to CAD from isolated view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 1, 2008 at 2:25:47 PM

3

Export the Point cloud file to Auto CAD with Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 9:38:32 PM

2

Export Revit Files into CAD

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Mon, Sep 23, 2013 at 12:58:20 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1650308

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 22.9894

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights