RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

233 Users Online (99 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Placing materials on objects in a family

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 6:00:08 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#1

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


This is a message to a YouTube users question on how to do the above. (you can see the convo here-http://www.youtube.com/user/theRevitCollection) When we have time to do a video we will on this topic!

 

Anyway, I am not sure how you are not able to place a material and are saying you don't have that option. So make sure you are going through the steps in this image and it should work!

 

To simply add a material to any object, select the extrusion (or blend, sweep, etc.) and click the 3 dots next to the material category. That will allow you to apply any material within your family which will carry into your project

 

To create a material parameter, click the little gray box next to the material category. This will allow you to name a material parameter and choose whether it is an instance or type. You will also see when you check the properties of your family, that parameter is now in there

 

Doing that means when you bring the family into your project you will be able to see the material parameters either in your instance or type properties of the family (whichever you chose when assigning it). That of course, allows you to change the materials within your project rather than having to open the family. 

 

Hopefully that clarifies things!

 



Attached Images

114205_materials1.JPG114205_materials2.JPG114205_materials3.JPG114205_materials4.JPG

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 3:33:33 AM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#2

simon510


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

Sorry for the late reply. Its Dai Lo from youtube.

Thanks for the detailed explanation.

I'm really sorry but I still can't find the material category (Shown in the pic with the tub).

And, btw do you know how I can change the dimensions in the family shown in the 2nd attached pic or

is there a way to scale it (make it bigger).

Thanks, and once again sorry for being a noob/newbie at revit.



Attached Images

114280_vsdsdv.png114280_Scale.png

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 3:49:33 AM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#3

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh now I see what the problem is. That "extrusion" you are trying to put materials on is actually a CAD file someone mistakingly tried to pawn off as a revit family. You can see this because in the properties it has the file name, "713.dxf".

I personally hate when people do that but it is neither here nor there. I would try to find another bathtub if you can... or if you are feeling really brave try and model using Revit and let the CAD file be your reference. If not, I am sure there are plenty of others out there you can download and bring to your project.

 

As for your other problem... go to the type properties of that object. If there is a dimension parameter and it is modeled correctly, then you can change the dimensions and it ideally should change. BUT, since that is a sweep, I doubt it was modeled correctly to dimension parameters. You could edit the sweep and change the profile if that is what you actually want bigger.

 

Lot of stuff to learn and I am sure a lot of what I said is still difficult to grasp! But keep asking questions, we were all newbies at one point!


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 4:04:42 AM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#4

simon510


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Yo! That was fast, thank you man.

And, dang CAD file =/. Yeah I guess I'm going to have to find another tub.

 

You are also correct about the second problem, the family wasn't correctly modeled to dimension parameter.How to change profile in edit sweep?

 

I also download the free deer component off your website.I choose a interior wall for the face, however the deer is invisible in all other views except the floorplan, And even then I can only see part of it (nose). Unless I change the view from coarse to fine, then I can see the whole thing. And what would be a ideal material for the family? Because I only see "choose category" Thanks!

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 4:19:18 AM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#5

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


No prob... 

 

For the sweep, select it, then choose edit sweep at the top, and then select/edit profile. That will get you in to sketch mode and it might take a little trial and error for it to work properly.

 

Glad you were able to download the deer! Yes, we only make our families available in fine detail view. Have a quick look at our standards and you can also read explanations for each of them. I just noticed what you mean about only seeing the nose, and you actually shouldn't be able to see that either in course or medium, but we just missed that line when we set that up! 

 

One of our other standards is giving material parameters to everything in a Revit family. This allows you to add materials within your project rather than doing it in the family. So to answer your question... click on that "<by category> line and make it whatever material you want- it is totally in your control!


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 4:21:57 AM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#6

simon510


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Just read up on the standard, understand it much clearly now!

And, thank you for having a material paramater, I wouldn't know what to do without one.

 

Sorry for another question, but would you know how to make water(ocean to be exact) in topography and to have a boat (I downloaded one) to be sitting in it. Also, how to make a fence/wall/walkway around the house like the one in this picture? Thanks

http://www.aboveallhouseplans.com/House_Plans/Octagon_Duplex_004.jpg

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 8:58:06 AM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


WATER = Create a floor and change the material. (Image 1)

WALL = Create a Wall and assign a "Sweep" (Image 2)



Attached Images

114326_water.png114326_WALLS.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 6:06:39 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#8

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


the boat is simple... just put it on the plane of the water. in theory water is always "flat" or level right? so what you want to look real is how it looks when it reaches the shore or meets the land.

 

you could do what typhoon suggested and it's similar to what i do. the important thing is to make sure your "floor" is deep enough to go past the topo surface and also wide enough to hit where it meets the ground. that will give you a more realistic look.

 

personally, i just create an in place family and adjust the depths as needed. but if you draw a floor like typhoon just make sure the thickness is deeper than the bottom of your water to the top of the water surface. it's all about how you use it in the end also, for rendering the depth isn't as important but for a shaded view (like my image) it would make a difference.



Attached Images

114363_water.jpg

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 6:10:12 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#9

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Sorry, I forgot the other image which shows what it looks like beneath the topo surface



Attached Images

114364_water.JPG

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 7:50:14 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


This is the effect I'm talking about....

 



Attached Images

114371_APAGA1.jpg114371_APAGA2.jpg

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 8:01:55 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#11

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Yeah that looks great except the reason I run it through the topo surface is because it doesn't look natural in your image where the water meets the ground unless you have a perfectly graded consistent sloping ground line. And even then the water would still look a little off if it didn't actually touch the topo.

 

This point is moot if you are bounding your water with a fountain, pool, etc. and you can bring the "floor" edges right up to the edge of the water bounding region (walls, etc.)

 

Great scene by the way.



Attached Images

114372_wateredge.JPG

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:15:52 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#12

simon510


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


 the important thing is to make sure your "floor" is deep enough to go past the topo surface and also wide enough to hit where it meets the ground. that will give you a more realistic look.

 but if you draw a floor like typhoon just make sure the thickness is deeper than the bottom of your water to the top of the water surface

 

Sorry I'm confused about the bolded parts.

So I make a floor on the topograpy surface in site plan right? And, then change the material to water?

Where to change the depth so the floor goes deep enough past the topo surface? a negative number for the offset


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 16, 2012 at 3:41:19 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#13

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


you are correct in your first two questions. the top of the floor is the part of it that is associated to where you place it so offsetting it negatively will only move the whole floor down. you need to go to the "edit type" dialog box, duplicate, name it water, and then edit the structure (the little gray box) and give it a much larger thickness. 



Attached Images

114395_water.jpg

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 6:10:07 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#14

simon510


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Thank you sir!

Final questions before I am finish with my project.

I'm trying to place my views on sheets in revit, but the view is either too small or too big so it doesn't fit perfectly into the 8.5x11 sheet template I'm using. Is there anyone I can make the image bigger to fit on a 8.5x11 paper for printing? I tried changing the scale but it still the same size when I drag it onto the sheet.

I also want to convert the view/sheet to pdf but there isn't a option for that in print, only my default printer/fax

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 6:30:34 PM | Placing materials on objects in a family

#15

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


you're welcome!

 

if you want the view to be to scale then you have to choose a scale that fits your sheet size. if scale doesn't matter choose the "fit to page" option in the print setup.

 

you need adobe acrobat pro to have the Adobe PDF option in your printer options. google "Free PDF writers" and download one of those. there are many but one of them doesn't have a link watermark on everything you print so i would watch out for that. i can't remember which one does that though. 


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Placing objects in 2D, but cant see the in 3D.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 22, 2012 at 7:21:51 PM

1

Revit Custom Materials Rendering Objects invisble

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 14, 2011 at 3:42:55 PM

13

Concrete Placing Boom Family/Model?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 18, 2011 at 5:55:18 PM

1

Family Materials

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, May 9, 2016 at 8:34:57 PM

4

Placing links to objects in revit 2014

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 12:21:40 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1689730

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151745

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6169

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights