RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

369 Users Online (236 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Rendering Quality

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 4, 2012 at 8:06:54 PM | Rendering Quality

#1

rivettimoney


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2011
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I have been working on some renderings and when they are complete, I export them and open them up in photoshop.  The quality of these renderings is not very good.  I set the quality to 'best' and have played around with setting the resolution to both 'screen' and 'printer', but nothing seems to change.  What do I need to do to increase the size and DPI of my renderings so I can blow them up on larger 24x36 sheets??  I am using revit 2012 at work and 13 at home.

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 4, 2012 at 8:22:26 PM | Rendering Quality

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 327 Votes


What size view did you use?  You can't expect to blow up a small view.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 4, 2012 at 8:33:07 PM | Rendering Quality

#3

rivettimoney


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2011
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I have it set at best.  Do I need to change the scale of the perspective drawing?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 4, 2012 at 8:51:47 PM | Rendering Quality

#4

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


The size of the rendering is based on the views extents that you are trying to export.

Ex: start a blank project, draw a single wall and in the render dialog, look at the image size. Then draw a much longer wall and you will see that the image size increases automatically...zoom factor does not matter for rendeging, hence the ability to render a region in the render dialog.

 

To get around this, save the rendering to your project and and then export that saved view out as an image and in that dialog you can scale it accordingly.

Alternatively, you can rescale the image in photoshop ... i strongly encourage reading up on this first as there are propper techniques to follow in doing so.

NOTE: Saving renderings in a project environment will greatly impact your project in file size. Always keep that in mind.

 


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 4, 2012 at 8:54:31 PM | Rendering Quality

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 327 Votes


I said size - not scale.



Attached Images

114031_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 4, 2012 at 9:30:26 PM | Rendering Quality

#6

rivettimoney


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2011
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks!  That seemed to work by saving the image to the file and scaling it higher when i export it.  I have been trying to figure this out for a couple months now


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 4:13:54 PM | Rendering Quality

#7

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


How much file size would the project be impacted if a rendering was included in the project?  Is there a general rule of thumb for this?  i.e. a 4 x 6 rendering on best at screen resolution takes up X amount of Mb's?


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 4:42:34 PM | Rendering Quality

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 327 Votes


We never save a rendering within the file because there is no need to.  We always export the image to a file, then if we want a rendered view on a sheet, we insert a jpg image with an appropriate resolution.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 7:15:18 PM | Rendering Quality

#9

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


What if the client has an agreement that requires the images to be "embedded" in the model and you can't convince them that's a bad idea?  haha!


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 4:45:39 AM | Rendering Quality

#10

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Can you convince them they are idiots?

Rivettimoney, here are some more rendering tips... Decemeber 2011, page 26 www.augi.com/augiworld/2011/


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 18, 2012 at 11:14:00 AM | Rendering Quality

#11

rafzao


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 3, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


I usualy set the Size Crop to the paper size, if I'm gonna print in an A4 paper, I set the Size Crop to be 210x297mm and adjust the resolution in the Render dialog, for 150dpi most of the times. It turns out to be very good when printing. I think there is no point rendering an image too large if the print size will be small.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 26, 2013 at 4:20:31 PM | Rendering Quality

#12

shulenj


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 21, 2010
17 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


It sounds to me like a size crop issue. Clich the view extent box and scale it to be about half the size it will be printed at. THEN render at your chosen quality. It takes longer to render but delivers a quality image at the size ou need.

 

Or go full scale. I rendered a 40 inch image last month


-----------------------------------

-Jeff

 

Intern Architect

Waldon Studio Architects & Planners

Columbia, MD

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Problems with Best quality nighttime rendering.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 2:32:13 AM

5

How to get natural photo rendering quality

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 7, 2013 at 9:58:35 AM

2

High Quality Rendering Error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 26, 2009 at 8:11:23 PM

6

walkthrough file in bad quality

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 6:27:52 PM

4

When Rendering, background image get realy bad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 11, 2006 at 5:54:44 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1193971

Objects:

19489

Forum Posts:

149418

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2610

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights