RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

276 Users Online (138 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 2:36:27 PM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#1

JRPcad


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2010
136 Posts
No Rating


As my subject sugests, I'm having problems when trying to extrude in a window family a reasonably straight forward set of loops. Basically it's the leading on a window (I know it sounds over the top, but it is for English Heritage on a church) it's a basic diamond design that i'm taking from a surveyors CAD drawing. It lets me create everything fine, I make surethere are no errors and that the potential extrusion is perfect, when I come to hitting the Tick butto, Revit just closes without any warning, It's really frustrating, I niitially did the extrusion as a large area in one go and have resorted to breaking it down to smaller chunks but I'm still having the issue.

 

Has anyone else come across this and have they found a proper way to resolve e.g. a setting somewhere maybe?


-----------------------------------

For Architectural Services visit www.jrpcad.co.uk

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 2:43:47 PM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


You need to tell us a little more about this.  You say extrusion but don't you mean sweep?

Some images would go a long way.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 4:24:42 PM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#3

JRPcad


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2010
136 Posts
No Rating


yup here you go (see attached)

I deffinately mean extrude, as i'm not sure how you would sweep all that leading easily, basically they want all of the diamond shapes and other little bits showing on the model. 



Attached Images

113828_window.jpg

-----------------------------------

For Architectural Services visit www.jrpcad.co.uk

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 5:58:27 PM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Sorry, I mised the "leaded".. Thought you meant the arch top / frame.

This should not be any problem, I have done much more complicated patterns than this. 

 

Remember, each perimeter has to be closed with no overlaps.  I would hope that this is not a parametric widow because flexing that would blow this up.

 

This may also be a memory / video card issue.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 30, 2012 at 9:46:08 AM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#5

JRPcad


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2010
136 Posts
No Rating


Yeah I wouldn't dare make it parametric, (more trouble than it's worth). I made sure all loops etc are closed, and i've also done things much more complicated, just for some reason it kept crashing on me.

It was more of a "is anyone else experiencing the problem" than a "how do you do it?".


-----------------------------------

For Architectural Services visit www.jrpcad.co.uk

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Nov 30, 2012 at 1:18:33 PM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


i just tried a farily complicated pattern in a window family and had no problems.  Are you by chance using a CAD import as your sketch?  Or are you using a lot of splines?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 23, 2013 at 1:06:41 AM | Extruding forces Revit 2013 to close without warning

#7

nasab5


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


I am having the exact same problem. I am guessing it is my Memory. It is quite low for Revit 2013 but I was wondering if you fixed the issue or not? Thanks


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2013 close without warning

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Feb 2, 2013 at 11:12:00 AM

3

Revit 2012: Warning Error in a project "HELP"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 15, 2014 at 4:14:03 PM

5

Revit shuts down without warning?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 3, 2008 at 8:55:37 AM

4

Previewing walls forces group ungroup then crashes program (2010)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 3, 2010 at 2:57:14 PM

2

Cable Tray- Revit MEP 2013

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 5, 2012 at 1:29:45 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1551247

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8044

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights