RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (91 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Cannot Load Components from Library

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Nov 24, 2012 at 8:26:19 AM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#1

tazman1


active
tazman1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 3, 2008
35 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


It seems that I can't load a family of components from my library.  When I try, more times than not, I get an error message saying it's wrong name (see attached), which makes no sense.  When I open the file by double clicking it in windows explorer it opens a second session of revit and closes my drawing.  When I try upload into project, it tells there's no open projects to load into.  I don't know if this is related, but I set windows explorer to open .rfa with Revit.  This is very frustrating.



Attached Images

113614_Cant_Load_Component.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 24, 2012 at 10:33:24 AM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


That's because you are trying to load a different category of components, if you want to load a "Column" first select select "Column" at your ribbon now select "Load Family"



Attached Images

113615_cat.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 24, 2012 at 5:11:53 PM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#3

tazman1


active
tazman1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 3, 2008
35 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Columns was a bad example.  I can't add this window from my library.  Several items in my library tell me I have the wrong name when I try to load them.



Attached Images

113623_Cant_Load_Window.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 25, 2012 at 12:55:06 PM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


I don't have any problem with this, maybe the "Path" locations in your options? Try to change the name of that window and see what happens!

 



Attached Images

113635_path2.png113635_path.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 25, 2012 at 6:16:02 PM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Ok

 

1. The first thing I noticed is your families do not seem to have the .rfa extension ? Is this a MS Windows setting ? Are they actually .rfa files ? That would explain the error. Look at my picture and Ty's picture. We both show .rfa. Yours does not. Are athey actually .rfa files ??

 

2. Instead of using any of the 'load family' tools from REVIT just drag the file(s) into REVIT directly from Windows Explorer. Much faster, easier and the family category plays no part.



Attached Images

113639_load-family.png

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 26, 2012 at 4:56:36 AM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#6

Pavan


active
Pavan Avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2005
157 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


DGCAD, It is not necessary to be shown the .rfa extensions. Some people can set the 'Hide Extensions from the 'Folder Options'. Moreover if you observe the first image you can see 'Chamfered Column.rfa'.


-----------------------------------

Pavan Reddy

Revit Manager

Intelligence is not always knowing the answers, it's always asking the questions.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 26, 2012 at 4:57:48 AM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#7

Pavan


active
Pavan Avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2005
157 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Check the attached image.



Attached Images

113657_Folder.jpg

-----------------------------------

Pavan Reddy

Revit Manager

Intelligence is not always knowing the answers, it's always asking the questions.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 26, 2012 at 5:58:25 AM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#8

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Thank you, I am well aware of the Windows setting.

 

So what happened when you dragged the rfa files from windows explorer ?


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 11:31:16 AM | Cannot Load Components from Library

#9

Euphii


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 6, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Tazman1,

I would advise to check the folder path. You may have it set to correct folder until Libraries folder. If you have switched units in a project to other than the folder path, you will get that error and it is a frusturating small detail. 

Using US(or whatever country) Imperial, load Imperial families. 

Using US Metric, load Metric families. 

 

Cheers


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Components Will Not Load Under Any Circumstances!

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 6, 2009 at 6:37:59 PM

4

Library Components, Metric and Imperial

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 30, 2012 at 5:38:59 PM

3

problem loading components

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Apr 26, 2009 at 7:21:18 PM

6

I can't load anything from my library.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 25, 2013 at 3:16:10 PM

9

Furniture as detail components

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Nov 9, 2011 at 11:30:43 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1474563

Objects:

21058

Forum Posts:

151021

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3059

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights