RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

181 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> setback structure

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 5:03:59 PM | setback structure

#1

jimshunk


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


hi.

this is my first thread on revit city, and i apologise in advance if this is not the right place for my thread.

i am in my final year studying architectural technology and i have designed a 5 storey building and each floor

is set back 1 metre from the one below it. the structure will be made with steel beams and columns, with

concrete slabs poured in each bay.

my question is can this be done, which i presume it can, but as i am not an engineer, i am unable to say how it works.

i have a small understanding on point loads and forces acting on a beam.

anyway, as i said, each floor has a concrete slab. this has to be supported by a column, but with my design, the column is just resting on the beam below, and then it steps out aginb for the next load.

i have attached a 2D drawing of what the structure will look like, so i hope you can understand what i mean.

as i said, i am an architecture student, and this isnt really an issue to work out loads, but as i design a building i like to

have an idea of how the structure works.

i can use revit and position beamsn and columns and all looks weel in 3D, but will it actually work??

will it need very thick beams?

sorry for the long post, and i know it is a bit away from an actual revit question, but thought someone here could

ease my mind.

thanks in advance,



Attached Images

112894_Slide1.JPG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 5:15:12 PM | setback structure

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Probably not as you show it.  The reason why it won't work is that 1/2 the floor loads from every level ends up resting on the first level's beam.    You can do something like this on one level but the exterior column on the next should be continuous all the way down.  Depending on your skin, that cloumn might axtually be at the location of your fouth floor column and the 4th floor cantelevers out to the position you want for the 3rd floor.  << No 3rd floor perimeter columns.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 5:31:44 PM | setback structure

#3

jimshunk


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


thanks for your reply.

i understand what u mean, and it did cross my mind that it would be too much of a load.

i have attached another drawing.

do you think this would help?



Attached Images

112896_Slide2.JPG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 5:47:47 PM | setback structure

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Not much... Do the next floor down ....not the top floor.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 6:18:09 PM | setback structure

#5

jimshunk


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


so this will be sufficient?



Attached Images

112898_Slide3.JPG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 6:50:48 PM | setback structure

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


That has a better chance of working.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 7:14:14 PM | setback structure

#7

jimshunk


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


thanks for your help. i can see now myself that it would have a better chance of working.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 11:24:23 PM | setback structure

#8

Manny


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 24, 2007
104 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


It does work, all you have to do is make your bearing beams bigger as you go higher. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 11:46:02 PM | setback structure

#9

jimshunk


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your reply. So are u saying that more or less all those 3. Structure would work? after more research myself, I have

Found out that I could use a slanted concrete column structure?  Then the cantilever would be the same on each floor. Would I be right in saying that?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

how can I make an arc setback in a revit wall, not openings.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 25, 2010 at 6:26:48 AM

6

Wall opening setback for door jamb

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 at 1:43:06 PM

1

HM Door/Window Setback Puzzle

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2012 at 3:42:11 PM

9

Wall Sweep Setback

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 16, 2009 at 7:12:36 PM

4

door frame off-set

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Mar 11, 2015 at 12:42:20 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1820653

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1703

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights