RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

179 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> 4 bldgs in one project

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 1:09:17 PM | 4 bldgs in one project

#1

selectstructural


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 20, 2012
9 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a project going out as one set that has more than 1 bldg. is it best to have 4 different models and link them all into one revit model file?  or keep them all in the same file?  in the pass having them all in one file makes the file to large to work with. 

I'm not sure how to BEST set up a project like this. Any ideas?

Thanks!


-----------------------------------

Jennifer Arnold

jennifer@selectstructural.com

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 1:26:55 PM | 4 bldgs in one project

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You don't tell us everything so I'm not sure what I would recommend. 

 

Do the buildings have common levels?  If not then this would require you use unique level names and restrict their 3D locations.  The same is true for Grid lines but these would be more of a problem because they too must be unique. 

 

You say it is one project.  If things like doors / windows / finish schedules are all unique to each building, then I suggest you do multiple revit projects with separate documents.  You can link them all into one project for overall site plan.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 1:48:14 PM | 4 bldgs in one project

#3

selectstructural


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 20, 2012
9 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


all the buildings have the same elevations, beam sizes, door and window sizes and details.

different grid lines

Can I dimension and tag beams and foundation in each linked revit file or do i have to do that in the combined file?

I'd like to cut the sections in the combined file so i only had to have one set of details. 

I think i'm making this harder than it needs to be

right now i have a revit file called project where i have all my details and sheets. No model is in the file just linked in models.   i have linked in bldg 1 and bldg 2 which are only models.  I have taged beams and foundation in the project file for the two bldg links.  I havent been able to figure out how to get the tags to show up that are in the link files, which is what i would like.  when i link a file in all the notes and tags disappear even  when i have the vg for them on.  When i try to schedule the job in the project file ofcourse the schedules are blank.  Can i create one combined beam schedule? 

there has to be an easier way to do this

 

 

 

 


-----------------------------------

Jennifer Arnold

jennifer@selectstructural.com

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 2:24:35 PM | 4 bldgs in one project

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


It sounds like you are testing and learning which is good.

 

I'm not sure what tagging across links is like in 2013.  You really could not do this in previous links.  You can schedule across links by checking the appropriate checkbox in the schedule to include linked models. 

 

You still haven't given us information about your system or the building sizes so we can't address how big your file might be.  If you have a 64bit system with 8gig or more, I would think this can all be in one file.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 3:17:43 PM | 4 bldgs in one project

#5

rod23


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 2, 2009
89 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


The way it's done is to model each building in its own file, link them all into a site plan, but do all the tagging, annotations, etc. for each building in its own file.  You lose some BIM functions when linking files as you've seen.  To do common details, they need to be all 2D drafting views, then insert from file a common detals sheet where you can reference the details.


-----------------------------------

http://www.turbosquid.com/Search/Artists/Revitaoist

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

portion greyed out

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Nov 12, 2008 at 8:18:50 PM

0

Linking Callouts Between Revit Models

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04:57 PM

0

Just want to say hello & ask a noobes question

Community >> Newbies

Sat, Apr 5, 2008 at 11:43:32 PM

0

Mirror Project - Revit Architecture 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 25, 2014 at 11:41:31 AM

8

project standards

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 5:18:52 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1779174

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.8034

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights