RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

175 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 1:09:23 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#1

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Is there a way in which i can create an instance text parameter appear above the level in a Spot Elevation?

i want to make a instance parameter above the level so i can write in wot element

(see attachment, Instance text parameter Indicatively in red)

Is this possible ???Thank you



Attached Images

111389_Spot_elevation.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 1:15:09 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Did you try?

The best answers in Revit are ones you learn for yourself.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 1:38:29 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#3

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


yes ive tried to bring in a shared parameter but it doesnt show and im unsure whether im editing the correct family ! is it possible ????


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 1:59:19 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Watch - if you can understand ....?

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEu2qp203tY



Edited on: Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 9:00:30 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:01:41 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#5

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


i dnt understand what you mean im only asking for help which is what the forum is intended for !!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:02:37 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#6

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


haha ok i didnt see the link i thought you was being cryptic ! apologies !


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:03:13 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#7

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


thank you !!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:27:50 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Now you will find that this guy's solution only works with one text version.  No control.

 

So now for the rest of the story......

 

When you place a spot elevation, you have a choice for a prefix /suffix.....Had you noticed these?   <<Your answer is here.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:32:30 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Kind of pulling your chain by answering your question rather than telling you to use your HELP... the first place you should learn to look.

You can read more about the already built in process in your HELP:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013/Help/00001-Revit_He0/1468-Document1468/1744-Annotati1744/1745-Dimensio1745/1776-Spot_Dim1776/1777-Spot_Ele1777/1779-Adding_S1779

 

Help is just a button away.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:34:47 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#10

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


yes but the prefix appears to the right of the level but i wanted the prefix to show above the level so it looks neater.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 2:49:18 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#11

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


yea i understand the type and instance parameters within a spot elevation but i still cannot get text above the level but i will watch the youtube video and see if i can get it to work thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 20, 2012 at 3:56:11 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Re-examine all of the settings available in the type properties.  Change all of them one at a time and apply.  Makes sure you add some text in the other blank fileds to understand these ....AND READ THE HELP LINK!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 21, 2012 at 8:25:43 AM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#13

cundall


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
54 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


haha its ok ! i had a go of making the family last night and it worked a treat. i will post it on here if i can.



This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 31, 2013 at 9:28:54 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#14

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I know that it is an older post but I am currently trying to figure this out.  In the family you uploaded did you notice that in only works correctly if you place it up/right, up/left but as soon as you try to rotate it to read from the bottom the text flips upside down?  Have you fixed this or know how?



Attached Images

115680_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 15, 2015 at 7:45:57 PM | Customising a spot elevation question ? ? ? ?

#15

ashevilleARCH


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 24, 2008
41 Posts
No Rating


Bringing back an old thread here.  I can follow the video with no problem.  However, the text added to the spot elevation isn't editable on the fly, without creating multiple spot elev families.  Any figured out how to do this?

The video cuts off right as he's about the change the text...I'm guessing it didn't work for him either.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Spot Elevation vs. Level elevation

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Thu, Feb 15, 2018 at 12:13:20 AM

2

Invert Elevation Vs. Spot Elevation

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 20, 2015 at 7:09:11 PM

4

Spot Elevation without Target

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 9:57:55 PM

4

Spot elevation tag issue

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 3, 2019 at 8:18:37 PM

1

spot elevation modification

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 3, 2008 at 12:10:52 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1771059

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151911

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9301

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights