RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

36 Users Online (35 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:47:19 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#16

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


the cricket is coplanar,  see attached image.  The family has three different types 1/4",1/2"and 3/8" if you pick the wrong type then your cricket slope doesnt match the roof slope..... anyways thats not the issue.  Regardless of the roof - if you run a profile sweep along the cricket edge not the roof forget the roof i just used it to host the family, its doesn't work. 



Attached Images

110723_cricket_17.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:49:57 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#17

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


you used the 1/4" type in the family on a 1/2" roof slope btw....thats why your cricket doesnt match your roof slope. 

Edited on: Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:53:04 PM



Edited on: Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 5:10:40 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 5:05:19 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#18

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


This is what I am telling you about.



Attached Images

110727_cricket001.png

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 5:13:12 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#19

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


can you send that project back to me to review?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 5:17:05 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#20

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


RAC2013



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 5:37:38 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#21

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


It looks like you can create the sweep as long as the roof isnt sloped.  The second you add a roof slope to the roof it kills the sweep.  So what do you think is the solution?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 6:08:02 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#22

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Fix your roof.



Attached Images

110732_cricketandroof.png

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 7:18:21 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#23

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Fix the roof?  If the roof has to be sloped and if you slope it it kills the sweep how do you fix that?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 7:25:08 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#24

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Zoom closely on top of your cricket and the edge of your roof. They are not aligned and so they are not coplanar.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 11:14:03 AM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#25

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Yes if you zoom way in it looks like they are slightly off, I will correct this and see if that is the solution, thanks for pointing that out. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 12:09:23 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#26

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


We looked into the visual aspect of the coplanar issue and the reason they do not look perfectly coplanar is because even if they are truly coplanar the computer resolution as you zoom extremely far in starts to show the object "hoping" up and down.  You can set any family to a reference plane on a roof based family or even set it off the default actual levels and if you zoom in far enough all of them do that.  So even after locking reference planes to surfaces which verify they are coplanar they still hop based off resolution. At this point I dont think we have found a solution to what is causing those 2 edges to kill a profile sweep.

Besides if the coplanar argument were true or the solution, then I wouldnt be able to run sweeps off the other edges of the roof cricket family (which i can, see previous attached images. Those edges when you zoom in also look like they are not perfectly coplanar due to resolution. Its also why lines look jagged when diagonal not perfectly smooth). 

Unless anyone else has an idea of why this is occuring I think we have beaten this to death and ill assume its an internal error. I thank you for your persistent effort to help but i dont think were gonna get it. 

Just to emphasize the point or kill the coplanar argument I have attached an image as an example of resolution error despite something trully coplanar

 



Edited on: Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 12:27:53 PM

Attached Images

110758_cricket_22.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 12:37:38 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#27

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


another example of that same family as you can see the reference plane is locked so it has to be coplanar.  As you can see the resolution is that issue not the actual problem pertaining to this problem.

 

 

 



Edited on: Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 12:46:26 PM

Attached Images

110761_cricket_21.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 12:47:31 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#28

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


If it was not coplanar then i wound't be able to do this either. 

 

 

 



Edited on: Fri, Sep 7, 2012 at 12:49:37 PM

Attached Images

110762_cricket_7.jpg110762_cricket_6.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Roof Cricket in a sloping roof

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Feb 14, 2006 at 5:59:03 PM

2

Roof Cricket

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 25, 2010 at 12:56:09 PM

4

Roof cricket

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 21, 2008 at 1:47:04 PM

7

Roof Cricket

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 28, 2008 at 5:14:11 PM

1

Roof design problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 7:30:00 AM

12

Site Stats

Members:

2003114

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152186

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5264

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights