RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

56 Users Online (55 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 at 7:09:44 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#1

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Dropped a roof cricket -roof hosted onto my roof.  Then I tried to run an in place model sweep - selected 3d edges of the cricket slopes and used my counterflashing profile, when I went to finish it gave me an error that could not create sweep.  So i tried adding the roof edge as well to the cricket edges for my sweep line and now it works.  Is there reason why if I only select the cricket edges it wont work but when I add the roof edge it does?  In order for it to work it seems like the profile location must be on roof edge not on the crickets then it finishes?  What is wrong with the sweep?



Attached Images

110642_cricket_1.jpg110642_cricket_2.jpg110642_cricket_3.jpg110642_cricket_4.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 at 7:51:46 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#2

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


I suspect it's the profile you use. Try a simplier profile without the roof edge and see if it works.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 7:05:56 AM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


A lot of sweep problems occur because the profile can't "bend" around the path.  For the least problems, the sweep object should always be on the outside of any path. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 10:36:47 AM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#4

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Attached are some images of the profile "bending" fine for one sweep and for the other it fails.  Both sweep profiles bend over the same ridge point except one way its ok the other its not.  Still not sure why it doesn't like this sweep line.  Seems like its when you select which line your profile is created off of.  Still confused. 



Attached Images

110670_cricket_5.jpg110670_cricket_6.jpg110670_cricket_7.jpg110670_cricket_8.jpg110670_cricket_9.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 11:39:56 AM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Redo your profile to change the origin from the middle.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 12:47:27 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#6

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


I moved the origin of the profile to different locations along the sweep line and it fails.  I have also tried different types of profiles other than the counterflashing and they fail as well. 



Attached Images

110687_cricket_10.jpg110687_cricket_11.jpg110687_cricket_12.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 12:52:54 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#7

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Is it possible the edge of the roof cricket family is causing the issue?  Im not sure if the way I created the blended sweep for my roof cricket is causing when i pick 3d edge to get screwed up. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 12:54:59 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Not along the sweep line - in relation to it!  The profile needs to be "outside" the path - see attached



Attached Images

110691_ScreenHunter01_Sep._06_13.53.gif110691_ScreenHunter02_Sep._06_13.53.gif

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 1:47:26 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#9

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Ive tried flipping  the profile to outside and rotating it as well so its facing the other way and it still fails.



Attached Images

110693_cricket_13.jpg110693_cricket_14.jpg110693_cricket_15.jpg110693_cricket_16.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 1:51:15 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#10

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


If i sketch the profile instead of picking 3d edges it works but to do that method is nothing but a headache and if I need to move it etc...  Ive attached the family so you can see what im dealing with.   



This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 2:43:22 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Sorry but your family makes absolutly no sense.  The profile doesn't look anything like what you showed earlier.

 

Perhaps we should start over by you explaining what this profile is supposed to do and why is it in a family, you originally talked about a project roof?

 

You've got me totally confused.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 3:10:45 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#12

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


I don't see a profile in the file you shared.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 3:58:22 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#13

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Due to confidentiality reasons I can only share the family so i attached the scenario in an imperial template.  Since I cannot finish the sweep you will have to run an in place model yourself.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:01:30 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#14

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


Your maximum is 2Mb for an attachment.  Load a profile in and you will see what im talking about.

It doesnt matter what profile I use it doesn't work. 



Edited on: Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:09:38 PM

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:26:07 PM | Profile Sweep over Roof Cricket

#15

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


I investigated your roof and found this. That is why you cannot select a 3D path because they are not coplanar, colinear, whatever.



Attached Images

110720_cricket.png

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Roof Cricket in a sloping roof

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Feb 14, 2006 at 5:59:03 PM

2

Roof Cricket

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 25, 2010 at 12:56:09 PM

4

Roof cricket

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 21, 2008 at 1:47:04 PM

7

Roof Cricket

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 28, 2008 at 5:14:11 PM

1

Roof design problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 7:30:00 AM

12

Site Stats

Members:

1986930

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152182

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5633

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights