RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

346 Users Online (172 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Only on one floor

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 8:22:24 PM | Only on one floor

#1

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


Hello - I have Revit Architecture 2012. I've been asked to do the electrical wiring diagrams for the ground floor plan. How do I do that so that NOT ONLY do I have the electrical symbols for the ground floor plan, but ALSO the symbols can be scheduled so that I know how many of each fixture or such I have put in.

I've experimented, even made the fixtures as generic models. Problem with that approach is that the fixtures appear on every drawing, rather I want it to ONLY appear on one drawing, none of the duplicates.

How do I do this?

THanks


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 10:35:57 PM | Only on one floor

#2

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Go to YouTube look for electrical it will help you through setting up circuits and all. Fairly confusing before you finally get it. You can import you generic models into the electrical familys and make them electrical families. Good Luck


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 3, 2012 at 6:49:24 PM | Only on one floor

#3

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


What you say does work (thank you very much), but 2 challenges:

1) the thickness of the lines do not seem to be controllable. How do I fix that (i.e. I want a thicker graphic line for some of theelements. I've tried everything, but very frustrated.

2) The elements show up on all the floor plans (i.e. all possible views of the plan). How do I get it to show ONLY on  the electrical view?

Many thanks

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 4, 2012 at 11:42:08 PM | Only on one floor

#4

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


look into the view templates, you may have some that you like, or you can modify or create your own using the VG.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 at 1:08:50 AM | Only on one floor

#5

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


Sorry, how do I look into view templates? Is that where if i want to load a family or start a new family and there are all these files to choose from? (e.g. Generic modelling) - is that what u mean? Also, not all of them can be scheduled. How do I know which ones can or cannot? Many thanks.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 at 12:42:01 PM | Only on one floor

#6

Agile3100


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 9, 2010
41 Posts
No Rating


For the visibility issues, go into Visibility Graphics and click Object Styles, this is where you can override family catagories project wide, thicknesses and such. Make the electrical families line weights heavier and this should fix that issue. Getting them to not show up in other views can be done 2 ways: 1) individually go into each view that you dont want to see them and hide by category. 2) Go to your view tab, and on the left of the ribbon(or at least on mine) there it a View templates tab, if you click on that, click "create a template from current view" and in the settings of that turn off the electrical, you can just apply that view template to each of the views that you don't want to see electrical in. Hope this helps


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 at 8:45:34 PM | Only on one floor

#7

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Agile is right as to how to turn on and off objects in the VG, I just like to create View templates so that I only have to do it once or maybe make smaller adjustments.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:41:29 AM | Only on one floor

#8

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the amazing help! I was able to do it. I copped out a little, though, i hid the items in other similar drawings of the same floor plan. However I would like to learn to use templates, it's a whole new area for me. Any suggestions on a webpage or site that can help in a very easy way? I've seen a few, but they look complicated. Many thanks.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 4:39:51 PM | Only on one floor

#9

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


There are many sources of information on this and other sites. 1st use your help, then Search the thread of view templates,on this site, then check out YouTube, maybe someone has placed something there that would be helpful.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ground Floor info. appearing on Second Floor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 9, 2016 at 7:24:40 PM

6

floor sketching

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 8:35:49 PM

4

(Dumb question) Can't see first floor when in second floor view [Revit 2015]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2015 at 11:11:13 PM

3

First floor slab or ground floor ceiling?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 30, 2013 at 12:41:03 PM

1

RAC 2010 Structural Floor V Floor - Whats the difference

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 27, 2010 at 1:35:33 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1513581

Objects:

21255

Forum Posts:

151244

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4930

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights