RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

219 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Continuous Wall Footing ?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 20, 2012 at 5:19:36 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#1

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Can you do a wall footing with no wall on top of it, or do I have to call it a grade beam?

 

Also - How can I do a cont footing in the interior of a building, down 8" from finish floor, where the slab pours down on top of it and it is centered under a wall above?  (I would like to use the wall footing because it would be faster and then I can monitor the walls fron the architect and if the wall location changes then my footing could change.)


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 2:33:12 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


"Can you do a wall footing with no wall on top of it, or do I have to call it a grade beam?"

You need a wall to host a wall footing

 

"the slab pours down on top of it and it is centered under a wall above?"

 Are you talking about a thickened slab edge?

 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 3:05:40 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#3

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Well it could be a thickened slab edge coming in from both ways because the slab runs across the footing.

But I would like to link the footing with the wall somehow so that if the wall moves the footing will move with it.


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 3:44:03 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


I don't use structural so ....

You might try a slab footing then dimension from that to the wall horizontally - lock it and delete the dimension.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 3:59:31 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#5

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


That sounds good - other than do you mean for a slab footing use a concrete beam?

(Is there a "so called command" for a slab footing that I don't know about - I am pretty new to Revit?)


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 4:03:57 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


You could use a beam but I would probably use the SLAB tool to create it.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 4:11:01 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#7

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


 

You could use a beam but I would probably use the SLAB tool to create it.

Taefoe5 - are you talking about using the slab tool to create the footing?  If so, how?


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 5:16:24 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


OK - Not Slab footing - Foundation Slab



Attached Images

110207_ScreenHunter01_Aug._23_13.15.gif

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 5:28:56 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#9

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Yes, I know about the slab edge, but I really need the slab to keep going and angle (pour) down to the footing from both sides.


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 5:52:22 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Hello.... have you thought about a simple sweep in the floor category to do the drop.?  That could have the shape you want and be tied to the wall.  And still use the "Foundation slab"<< Not slab edge.

 

Slab edge could work put you would have to split your floor in two and it would not flex with the wall.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:16:51 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#11

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I think the sweep might be the answer.  I don't want to put in 10 milliondifferent slabs (UGH)!

(I will try the dimensioning the footing to lock it to the wall and then the sweep.)

 

Thansk!!!

 


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:27:47 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


If you have a gazillion of these, then make a simple extrusion or sweep family.  Don't do an in-place.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:57:50 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#13

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Yes I will - I have done a few before, now only to check my memory bank on how to do that.  :-)

 

Thanks!


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:59:47 PM | Continuous Wall Footing ?

#14

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Think you are on the right track, with the sweeps, especially if you are doing infill type structure, which can have multiple steps in the slabs etc. preparing a footing profile system prior to commencing could help so that they will all fit together easily. Good luck.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Continuous footing off center from host wall?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 29, 2006 at 5:46:48 PM

5

Stepped Footing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 7, 2010 at 1:35:38 PM

2

Footing longer than the wall

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Oct 27, 2005 at 7:48:42 AM

2

continuous footing

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Jul 15, 2015 at 5:17:37 PM

4

Continuous footing under door openings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 12, 2009 at 5:33:30 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1756358

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151876

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.7052

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights