RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 4:49:21 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#1

lnklein


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 8, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


I created a custom light fixture family and when I load it and place it it doesn't appear in the RCP.  It is a wall based fixture and is showing up correctly in elevations and in 3D views.  I have checked the workset, family and visibility graphics settings which all seem to be correct.  I even compared it to other light fixtures that are wall based and are showing up fine in the RCP but can't seem to find any significant setting differences.  I have set a material and aligned the fixture to the other wall based fixtures to make sure the height wan't screwing with the visibility, but still . .. nothing. Any ideas?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 5:09:10 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#2

jlights


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 18, 2007
146 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Did you also check to make sure that the family category is Lighting Fixture and not Generic Model or something else? You didn't mention this specifically, so I thought I'd ask. You might try posting the family. If you do, I'll try to take a look and see if I can spot anything.


-----------------------------------

jlights

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 5:13:38 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


Is the fixture cut by the cut plane or above it?

If not, you can always add a vertical invisible line in the family elevation from the fixture up to where it will be cut.  Then the fixture should show.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 5:17:01 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#4

lnklein


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 8, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


I have already checked both of these conditions.  Here is the family.



This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 5:47:09 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Change the "Underlay" to that level



Attached Images

109471_2012-07-311846.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 5:52:25 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#6

jlights


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 18, 2007
146 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I changed the view range of the Ceiling Plan in the family to 6'-0" and the fixture became visible in this view in the family (see screenshot). Try reloading the family and hopefully it will show up. If not, perhaps you have the family below the level of the cut plane in the RCP-?



Attached Images

109472_wall_fixture.gif

-----------------------------------

jlights

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 1, 2012 at 1:56:05 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#7

lnklein


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 8, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


Mission accomplished.  I changed the offset on the cut plane in view range.  The first solution would have been good if it didn't also make all my furniture layouts show up too.  Thanks guys!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 1, 2012 at 2:02:43 PM | Light Fixture family wont show in RCP

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


My first response told you to look at this and how you could fix it in the family without moving the cut plane.

 

Better late than never.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

The lighting fixtures wont show up in my final revit 2013 rendering.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 at 8:23:18 AM

1

New light fixture blocks out grid lines on DEMO RCP! Anyone know why?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Aug 2, 2008 at 5:15:05 PM

1

2'x2' fluorescent fixture on rcp covers up part of adjacent 2'x2' return fixture

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Aug 28, 2009 at 6:06:16 PM

1

Label not appearing in light fixture

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 10, 2016 at 8:38:32 PM

2

Light Fixture / Light Source - Wont Render with size change

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 4:35:15 AM

12

Site Stats

Members:

1635316

Objects:

22069

Forum Posts:

151665

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2451

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights