RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

249 Users Online (102 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Parametric Wall lengths?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 6, 2006 at 9:04:24 PM | Parametric Wall lengths?

#1

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Forgive all the question if they appear very elementary... This is my thrid day in Revit, and the tutorials seem lacking... No book to go by yet, lol. Ive used a massing blend to create a shape that rotates and decreses in size as it extends up 50 floors. Now, on floor 1, i have walls that run to that curtain wall (i created a curtain sys. from the face). Now, instead of extending the walls to the curtain, and having to trim them on all 50 floors, can i write a formula for the length constraint that tells teh wall to run until it hits the curtain? This was easy in Catia, and im sure its easy here too, and i just dunno how...

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 6, 2006 at 9:51:20 PM | RE: Parametric Wall lengths?

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Post a pic its difficult to visualise exactly how the walls are interacting with curtain walls? There is also the automatically embed option in the curtain wall system properties that will cut an opening out of other walls automatically. HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 6, 2006 at 11:23:00 PM | RE: Parametric Wall lengths?

#3

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Ill sketch it out and post it later, but try this. Draw a triangle. Thats the first floor. Now draw a triangle thats rotated 60 degrees, so they intersect one another like the Star of David. Thats the 50th floor. Everything in between is a function of the rotation. Now, i go in to my first floor, and draw some walls that go all the way to the outside walls. These walls are the same and are in the same location for all 50 floors, so obviously, they have to get longer/shorter to meet the constraints of the varying perimeter. Id like to set up a parameter to say, End 1 of the wall starts here, End 2 = when it hits the curtain system. Otherwise, i have to trim/extend a bunch of walls for 50 stories, lol...

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 7, 2006 at 4:19:15 AM | RE: Parametric Wall lengths?

#4

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Your problem may be able to be solved by creating a void that sits outside your blend to cut the walls. Hard to say for sure without seeing a sketch of your situation, but this is the methodology SOM is using on the Freedom Tower project to cut the floors as they twist. They are also using voids to host other elements such as the curtain wall and upper tower elements. Assuming you are on subscription, you can log into the Autodesk subscription site and click on the link under training to go to the recorded sessions of AU2005. James V. from SOM taught a class called "You Can't do that with Revit" that was recorded an covers some of their advanced modeleing techniques. Also check out the classes taught by Phil Read on the AU2005 site. He has some awesome parametric modeling forms that will blow you away and they are downloadable. HTH Tom Post edited on 2006-01-06 22:19:41

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jan 7, 2006 at 11:35:08 PM | RE: Parametric Wall lengths?

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Exactly as top suggested. I'd run the internal walls as single multi level walls all the way up the building Then create an in-place family void blend to cut the walls to the shape of the tower. This way it will be very easy to manipulate. HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Jan 8, 2006 at 4:48:04 PM | RE: Parametric Wall lengths?

#6

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Okay, i see what you are suggesting, and that may work... I wont be back at my computer with Revit till tomorrow, and this is more of a learning project for me, so i prolly cant try it till after hours... I guess what im getting at though... If i have a blend, and a void inside it (creating an atrium), and both are rotating as they go up... Theres no parameter or formula i can use to replicate interior walls that are perpendicular to the void, running to the blend. Im going to have to go in and trim them floor by floor, and rotate them, yes?

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Calculate Wall Lengths/Area

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 8:50:34 PM

3

Visibility Parameter Formula based on 0.5m Lengths

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 6, 2011 at 9:59:07 AM

1

Vertical Wall Sweeps

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 13, 2012 at 12:52:24 PM

12

Nominal Timber Lengths

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 20, 2006 at 2:09:09 AM

0

parametric window should recognize wall type!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 12, 2006 at 12:44:20 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1623963

Objects:

22014

Forum Posts:

151625

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 10.7533

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights