RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

203 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 30, 2012 at 10:50:51 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#1

jonesstudioinc


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 18, 2011
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


So I've done quite a bit of looking around and found that other users have experienced Revit crashing, but none have seemed to help.

My issue is that there are several interior elevations throughout the project that immdetially cause REVIT to crash by opening / modifying in plan / opening the sheet / looking at them funny.  The only way around this that I've found is to very carefully find the view and delete it and recreate it with the interior elevation tag in plan view.  However, even if I've gone through and carefully deleted/re-created the troublesome views, new views will start having problems.

I'm running Revit 2011 on an older computer (2.6 GHz, 3 GB RAM, s#!@$y graphics card) but it still happens when I use the best machine in our office.  The model size is relatively small (approx 80 MB) and I've made sure to keep my warnings to a minumum (beyond 'slightly off access BS' etc...).

Anyone have any ideas?  I've read that upgrading from a previous version isn't great, and I did that with this model, so that might be my problem but I'd like to think there's something else out there.  My model generally crashes 2-3 times daily depending on what I'm doing, but lately working with interior elevations it'll crash 30 times in an hour, which is about my frusteration threshold.

Thanks in advance! 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 8:41:54 AM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


ONLY 3 GB of RAM? you need RAM and working in a 64 bits system.

Also, did you installed all "Web Updates" to 2011?


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 3:42:32 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#3

jonesstudioinc


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 18, 2011
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I agree my computer is well below par.  Working on convincing 'the man' to buy a new machine.  However the issue still persists when I'm using our best machine, which is somewhere around 4GHz with 16 GB of RAM w/ Windows 7.  

I have installed all updates from the autodesk.  I'm thinking it has something to do with upgrading from 2010 to 2011, possibly some incompadabile imformation??  Autodesk has been of no help of course.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 3:55:51 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


This sounds like a file corruption problem, generally the upgrade does not create problems.  You may have one corrupted element that causes your problems. 

 

2011 does demand more memory than 2010 but it should run on 4GB with 3GB switch set.  << That is a must!

 

Are you doing anything strange in this model?  Intense model elements?

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 4:13:00 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#5

jonesstudioinc


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 18, 2011
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


The model does contain quite a bit of intense model elements. I'm modeling a performing arts center and the house walls are individual CMU blocks that weave in and out to that help 'tune' the room acoustically.  At first I modeled these as a group and linked them to my building Revit model, but found that if they were compenents within the model it ran much smoother.  Needless to say I have roughly 8,000 individual CMU 'component walls' that make up the house walls.  I needed them to each have a 5/8" overlap from the next so I couldn't use a wall attached to mass face approach. I also have two CMU exterior walls that have the individual courses modeled. Some rendered views (there's one of the house that shows what I'm talking about) http://www.jonesstudioinc.com/37/index.htm.

Is there a way to find or single out a corrupt compenent? Thanks again for you help!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 5:07:08 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


I think your last post explains your problems. You model is just over-modeled.

 

Sorry, I don't think I will be able to help you.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 6:34:03 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#7

jonesstudioinc


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 18, 2011
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Bummer! Overmodeled my model!?

So is there anyway to design intricate 'intense' models in REVIT or is it not the platform to use when designs go beyond the norm (ie slightly off access)?  My coworkers are Rhino-ers and speak down on REVIT for this reason, but I was hoping to show them it was capable of designing and producing drawings for our type or architecture.  I understand my computer has limitations, but has anyone with a proficient machine ever gotten into intricate designs without REVIT crashing?  Is there a better way to handle mutliple components that would still show correctly in the drawings and renderings?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 6:40:26 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


Rhino may be better than Revit with some things but it just can't document buildings well.  To be a snob is foolish.

 

Maybe this will help you:  http://rhinorevit.wordpress.com/


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 31, 2012 at 6:57:42 PM | REVIT 2011 Crashes Dealing w/ Interior Elevations

#9

jonesstudioinc


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 18, 2011
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I agree with you there! I've seen that site before, but until REVIT allows you to assign materials to imported .sat files its a mute point for us.  We've played between Rhino and Revit quite a bit with limited success (works somewhat well in drawings but not at all for rendeirng).  

Thanks again for your insight and help! Happy Reviting. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit MEP 2011 crashes when circuiting electrical devices.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 3:27:58 PM

0

crash of revit 2011 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 25, 2010 at 9:26:53 PM

15

Problem with Interior elevations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 13, 2015 at 7:51:29 PM

9

interior elevations

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Apr 11, 2007 at 2:43:04 PM

5

View titles lettered for interior elevations, cannot duplicate...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 31, 2017 at 3:43:39 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1632841

Objects:

22066

Forum Posts:

151654

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7878

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights