RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

240 Users Online (111 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Electrical Wire Mystery

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 12:05:10 PM | Electrical Wire Mystery

#1

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I have a strange issue going on with an electrical wire.

On one computer and only in one project I am unable to to change the Hot Conduct, Neutral Conductor and Ground Conductor numbers count.  I can open the project on my machine and it works fine, open it on another machine and it works fine, Save to central and still works fine on all machines accept for this one.  I can open a different project with the machine in question and the wires work fine, new project the wires work fine.  It is only on this one project, and seems to be local to this one machine.  As if there is a local variable stuck or locked.  I have gone as far as uninstalling Revit and reinstalling it with no luck.  The regestry was not cleaned and this seems to be my next step with another fresh reinstall, but this situation is very strange indeed.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 1:24:56 PM | Electrical Wire Mystery

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


 

Could this item be in a workset that you own but on this machine, your id is incorrect? Check your user ID under the Revit R / options.



Edited on: Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 8:25:16 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 2:26:12 PM | Electrical Wire Mystery

#3

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


Worksets are all "non editable", user ID is correct, even created new local, uninstalled and reinstalled Revit and recreated a new local again...  I can create a new wire in this project but not on the circuit and it will work, I recreated the wire via "create similar" and it does not work.  If I break the circuit it works but no home run arrow will appear.  Seems I was wrong about the Hot, I can change the Hot but not the Neutral or Ground.  It seems to be isolated to the circute but it still baffles me that other machines can modify no problem but this one machine can not.

 

Maybe it is the wire type...  because it is not isolated to one idividual circuit it is different circuits but once I remove from circuite it will allow me to change Ground and Neutral count.

 

Still sratching my head...

 

 


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 2:29:33 PM | Electrical Wire Mystery

#4

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


What makes this more difficult is I can not tie up the guys machine to troubleshoot, he has keep working and because I can not duplicate the error on my machine, I can only troulbleshoot in short sperts.


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 4:03:18 PM | Electrical Wire Mystery

#5

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I have found a similar thread to my problem... 

 

someone asked me how to add an isolated ground wire and I sumbled upon this.

 

 


-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 30, 2012 at 12:22:41 PM | Electrical Wire Mystery

#6

cadman6735


active
cadman6735 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
148 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


mystery solved, my partner in crime figured it out...  the Revit just needed the latest update...  The one thing I did not check for...  For some reason I thought installing fresh would have given me the latest updates but I was wrong and didn't even look.

 

FYI for anyone else with the same issue...

 

 



Edited on: Mon, Jul 30, 2012 at 7:24:33 AM

-----------------------------------

  • Ability is what you're capable of doing.
  • Motivation determines what you do.
  • Attitude determines how well you do it.

Quote by:  Holtz, Lou

  • Life is all about the attitude

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Removing Overlapping Electrical Wire

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 12:27:08 PM

1

Metric Wire Sizes in REVIT 2008

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2007 at 1:50:31 PM

1

Wire Mesh Handrail

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 20, 2010 at 9:58:42 PM

2

Screen wire wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 18, 2016 at 2:49:41 PM

2

Wire mesh curtain wall door for wire mesh wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 17, 2012 at 7:57:36 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1692907

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151749

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4549

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights