RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

238 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Making Custom Staircase...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 6, 2006 at 2:35:47 PM | Making Custom Staircase...

#1

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


First, hello all... Im new here, just started modeling with Revit at my new job in architecture, in upstate NY... I was using ArchiCAD at my last job, Digital Project before that (Catia v5), and of course... AutoCAD / ADT... So far i love Revit, it definetely has potential. I dont think you can push it as far as Catia, but the interface is so much more user friendly, its a decent trade off for efficient production. Anyway... Im modeling a staircase that we will use in several jobs/files, so im fairly certain i want to make it as a Generic Floor Based Family, yes? I noticed staircases are usually affixed to the floors when inserted. Im not using the stairmaker, becuase the staircase has landings that then divide and head in multiple directions, and im having trouble getting the stringers / treads accurately modeled in the Stair Sketch. So is using regular mass modeling in the New Family setup my best bet? Any help is appreciated, im a 3 day noob to Revit, lol...

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 6, 2006 at 2:49:18 PM | RE: Making Custom Staircase...

#2

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Whoops... Okay, so the stairmaker is much more customizable than i thought... I wasnt able to get the boundaries to turn yesterday, but i just found out that if you add a run, instead of extending the boundary, it extends it for you... My bad? lol...

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 6, 2006 at 6:15:56 PM | RE: Making Custom Staircase...

#3

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


There are some really nice sample stairs located on the Autodesk website. When you go to load a family, click on the "web content" box in upper right corner of the dialog box. They are under "Revit samples" It takes a few more mouse clicks to get there, but when you do there are stair, railing and repeating detail examples. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 9, 2006 at 4:27:54 PM | RE: Making Custom Staircase...

#4

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the links... I got most of what i needed from there. New Q tho... I managed to get the Baluster panel created, with the round balusters in between (alltho in the baluster settings i couldnt get the two to coexist without overlapping, so i cheated and made them both one baluster together...) But, i have to align the pattern with the *end* or it sticks out way past the end of the staircase. As that is, i cannot get the baluster to sit even with the end its aligned too... It has a few inches left over, lol. Im just trying to get it lined up, and i cant. Im not sure that makes any sense... Lemme try to think of a better way to explain this...

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 9, 2006 at 5:19:17 PM | RE: Making Custom Staircase...

#5

admrl


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Okay, heres another attempt at explaining it: I have a staircase thats 16 ft long, in plan, for simplicities sake. I want it divided in to 4 sections, 4 ft each. With a circle baluster @ 4' o.c., and a glass panel between each baluster. Now, i can make the baluster and panel fine, and space them fine (as i said tho, i made them together as one *baluster*), but... even If my pattern length is the 16 ft, its sticking off one end of the staircase, with a gap at the other end. I cant get it to line up IN the staircase railing, unless i oversize the length of the railing, and guestimate it, which is making my railings look like hell... Thoughts?

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Staircase not going to levels?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 8, 2016 at 12:06:52 AM

2

Staircase help - winder staircase

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:31:48 PM

2

custom riser height for staircase

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 24, 2010 at 5:08:35 AM

0

Openings in staircase

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 26, 2013 at 4:21:10 PM

4

staircase

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Oct 21, 2012 at 12:23:52 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1623971

Objects:

22014

Forum Posts:

151625

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 8.2557

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights