RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

173 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks >> INSTANT PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 4:23:16 PM | INSTANCE PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

#1

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Hi, i'm trying to do a wall pass-throgh seal that I need in various sizes that I want to control as instance parameters and they work fine, but when I set those dimension parameters as "Reporting Parameter", they are no longer editable from the instance properties window. So....does anyone know how to do it? . . . . If possible



Edited on: Thu, Jul 12, 2012 at 8:23:06 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 5:07:10 PM | INSTANT PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Reporting parameters report!  From your HELP: "A reporting parameter is a parameter type that has its value driven by a particular dimension in the family model. Reporting parameters extract a value from a geometric condition and use it to report the data to a formula or as a schedulable parameter."  So as such, you can't set them.

  • Reporting parameters are useful when a family is driven by external references that are updated based on contextual information from placed family instances, such as curtain panels or the width of a wall for the frame of a door or a window.
  • For external reference cases in which the geometry depends on the specific conditions of individual family instance placement, the reporting parameter allows the dimension value to be saved and reported in the family parameter.
  • A reporting parameter can be used in a formula only if its dimension references are to host elements in the family (such as levels, curtain panel boundary reference planes). If any of the dimension's references is to family geometry, the dimension can be labeled with a reporting parameter, but this parameter cannot be used in formulas.

So why do you want this to be a reporting parameter when it already works as an instance parameter?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 5:23:17 PM | INSTANT PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


I believe you were wanting a shared parameter which could be instance.  Again, from your HELP:

Shared parameters are particularly useful when you want to create a schedule that displays various family categories; without a shared parameter, you cannot do this. If you create a shared parameter and add it to the desired family categories, you can then create a schedule with these categories. This is called creating a multi-category schedule in Revit Architecture.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 5:26:36 PM | INSTANT PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

#4

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Because I want to put several instances of the object in cuestion, set the dimension of of each one without making several Types (but instance variation) and make a schedule that gives me a list of all of them with their respective sizes. Or what would be the way to do this.?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 5:44:06 PM | INSTANT PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


You must have missed my last post and did not understand my first post.  NOT reporting - you need shared.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 7:08:57 PM | INSTANT PARAMETER SCHEDULEABLE

#6

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Thank you WWHub, now I got it. And I could do it. I was trying to understand that for months. Thank you again for your concern.

Edited on: Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 2:14:04 PM



Edited on: Wed, Jul 11, 2012 at 2:15:22 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 at 8:41:00 PM

5

TYPE-INSTANT PARAMETER not permitted ANY WORK AROUND?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 9, 2009 at 6:46:42 PM

8

Can I arrange parameter list?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 7, 2009 at 4:09:49 PM

3

customize text parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 26, 2007 at 4:12:32 PM

1

Door Data Global or Instant

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 29, 2005 at 6:25:46 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1820613

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2674

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights