RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

251 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 5:41:28 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#1

yilin1985


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 29, 2009
32 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to make a monolithic stair of an odd shape (image attached) but I keep getting an error "can't make monolithic stair".  Can someone take a look and let me know what I am doing wrong?



Attached Images

108107_MAIN_ENTRANCE_STAIR.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 5:54:18 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I would get rid of the last riser at the door and the whole landing.  Just do the U.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 6:03:08 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#3

yilin1985


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 29, 2009
32 Posts
No Rating


Wont' let me do that either


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 6:21:06 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#4

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


you could do a sweep.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 26, 2012 at 9:15:57 AM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


No need to In-place, to create that in one piece there is a trick: just put the riser height in "Tread thickness", it's not perfect but will work OR create that with 3 stairs.


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 26, 2012 at 12:28:22 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#6

RevitIndia


active
RevitIndia Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 7, 2012
16 Posts
No Rating


Create half stair and mirror it as shown in the image. Also select stepped in the underside of the winder in the type properties.



Attached Images

108157_Stairs.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 26, 2012 at 8:50:41 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#7

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


do it like this



Attached Images

108202_108107MAINENTRANCESTAIR_copy.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 27, 2012 at 12:57:04 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#8

jameswalker


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 29, 2011
4 Posts
No Rating


If it gives you that much trouble just make them all into floor slabs.

Althought this would not look proper in a section, it could still be fixed with some detail lines.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 27, 2012 at 2:18:55 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Although floor slab would work in plan and 3D, I think it is a poor solution.  The best is using stairs but in this case, Revid does have some problems with the monolithic stair type.  If the 'U' shape without landing did not work, then RevitIndia's solution would be better and I know that would work.

 

You can use a lot of tools in Revit.  An in-place sweep that mbsteve suggested would be the next best solution because you could still assign it to the stair category.  Another sweep posiblility is a floor edge but just beacuse you can doesn't make it a good solution.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 27, 2012 at 8:46:04 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#10

hoffmanr


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 30, 2011
29 Posts
No Rating


I think the best solution for you on this one is to research how this set of stairs will actually be poured or "built"  more than likely you are having an issue creating this set of stairs because this is not being taken into consideration- if this is the case do an "in-place" model and create your steps however you see fit using sweeps and void cuts to create the look you want.  My point here is that "just because you can... doesnt mean you should"  Just take a look into it and you might find that creating an entire slab that is built out of solid concrete which is 49" thick is probably not the best use of concrete.  Just my two cents... take it or leave it... 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 4:17:33 AM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#11

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I'm going with Hoff on this one, the reason that I said do a sweep was because you can make it look correct in all the sections, it will give accurate yardage, and it is the way they will be built. You can use a void to cut the bottom two steps to match the slope of the drive or curb you need to match.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 8:43:07 AM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#12

zuzullo


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2010
90 Posts
No Rating


1 - disable "Stair calculator"

2 - Set "Min tread depth" to a ridiculous and absolute minimum, like 10milimiters

3 - Do the oposite approach to the max. riser depth

4 - Be sure the base level and top level are the ones you which

5 - draw the stairs with total freedom. You can even sketch new risers anywere.


-----------------------------------

Do you wanna SKYPE Revit? Its quicker Smile

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 4:07:33 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#13

yilin1985


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 29, 2009
32 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

 

Thank you for all the wonderful helpful comments. FYI, I ended up making the stair using 3 separate stairs and then modeled a floor slab at the landing. Seemed to have worked! Smile


-----------------------------------

USING REVIT ARCHITECTURE 2013

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 5, 2016 at 4:16:18 PM | CAN'T MAKE MONOLITHIC STAIR

#14

jpmays23


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 24, 2012
29 Posts
No Rating


This may have been updated in 2014 (which I am using right now), but if you edit the properties of the Monolithic Stair - Run Type - Underside Surface to be Stepped, instead of Sloped, it will work.

 

But make sure that the Structural Depth is not greater than or equal to the total of tread depth plus nosing length (unless nosing length is 0", then you can set it to whatever depth you want, if you want stairs to appear as solid block of concrete).



Attached Images

143770_Capture.PNG143770_Capture2.PNG143770_Capture3.PNG

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Monolithic Stair with Stringer

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 5, 2009 at 3:43:24 PM

1

Curved monolithic stair problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 11, 2010 at 8:33:31 PM

6

Monolithic Stair Question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 12:14:39 PM

5

Monolithic stair - large construction height error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 13, 2011 at 5:10:33 PM

1

Monolithic Stair Radius nosing?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 8:10:43 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1689644

Objects:

22213

Forum Posts:

151745

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 7.0803

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights