RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

241 Users Online (101 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Cut Fascia by roof

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 8:29:33 AM | Cut Fascia by roof

#1

henrythorpe


active
henrythorpe Avatar

Joined: Sat, Jun 9, 2012
3 Posts
No Rating


How do I cut a roof fascia (and gutter and soffit) by an intersecting roof? At the moment the fascia board runs the length of the building and I want it to be cut by the new intersecting wing. I have attached an image.



Attached Images

108049_CutFascia.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 10:35:28 AM | Cut Fascia by roof

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Create an "Opening Dormer" in the main roof then apply the fascia and gutter, then stretch those blue dots to the position you want.

 

Or you can use an "In-Place" family in Roof category and create a VOID to cut that gutter and fascia....

 



Edited on: Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 5:46:32 AM

Attached Images

108058_ROOF2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 3:20:30 PM | Cut Fascia by roof

#3

henrythorpe


active
henrythorpe Avatar

Joined: Sat, Jun 9, 2012
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for both methods. I went for the easier of the two which was the first one- make opening and then drag the blue handles on the fascia. It works well but does leave a bit sticking through the roof (as in attached image) so at some point I will get my head round the second method which I guess allows you to cut the fascia at the same angle as the roof. 



Attached Images

108076_fasciapokesthrough.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 3:25:53 PM | Cut Fascia by roof

#4

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


As per Ty, I would create and in-place void and use 'cut geometry' to remove that excess material.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 25, 2012 at 3:39:49 PM | Cut Fascia by roof

#5

henrythorpe


active
henrythorpe Avatar

Joined: Sat, Jun 9, 2012
3 Posts
No Rating


I'll make a note to cut geometry. Also, DG of Cad Clips, I've learnt a lot from watching some of your video tutorials. Really useful. Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Roof Fascia On Negative Sloped Roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 15, 2013 at 2:47:35 PM

4

RAC09 - Roof Fascia Corner Miter on Square Cut

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 27, 2009 at 11:57:00 PM

4

Gable End Fascia

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 23, 2007 at 10:45:50 AM

3

Fascia Board Too Long

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Nov 20, 2012 at 4:19:31 PM

2

ARCHED ROOF FASCIA

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 21, 2006 at 8:33:17 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457840

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4434

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights