RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (83 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> feedback on new pc setup

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jun 17, 2012 at 8:57:01 PM | feedback on new pc setup

#1

cadvis3d


active

Joined: Sun, Oct 7, 2007
10 Posts
No Rating


hi all....just wanted to ask for some feedback on the following system, which i'm thinking of purchasing:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251065034079?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

At present i'm running two laptops

one is an amd 64x2 with intergrated nvidia geforce 7000m, 4gb of ram, windows 7 64bit, revit 2010 64bit on dual monitors

second is an intel core i3 with intergrated intel hd graphics, 4gb ram, windows 7 64bit and revit 2010 64bit

both run revit fine or have been doing for some time. However i am now doing more and more rendering work and starting to move onto animation for some clients, which is obviously stretching the power of these laptops a little...

After doing alot of research i know that revit 2010 can use a max of 4 cores when rendering, so i've gone for the fastest i can find within my budget (see link). 

With regards to software upgrades, i cannot afford to upgrade revit (£4k is out of my budget right now!), so really its revit 2010 (which has worked fine so far) or i team revit up with artlantis or lumion (although lumion does'nt support 2010 anymore and needs a bit of messing around to import to, but i have a plugin for artlantis and now getting to grips with the interface - trial ver at present). However i have done alot of renders in revit, teamed up with photoshop and have found them great and happy with them...my only major concern is the time it takes to produce the renders. I've played aroudn with settings and can now render a 300dpi scene, without lights, A4 sheet size, with good quality textures in around an 1 to 1.5hrs, depending on the scene complexity. When i include lots of lights, this goes up to around 3-4hrs. I need to cut this right down, so its the main reason why i'm wanting to upgrade. I may have the budget later for artlantis, but at present its merely revit 2010 doing all the work.....

So...basically, do you guys think that this system would increase my render times by around 50-60%?..which is what i am aiming for 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jun 17, 2012 at 9:02:57 PM | feedback on new pc setup

#2

cadvis3d


active

Joined: Sun, Oct 7, 2007
10 Posts
No Rating


edit: also do i need to go for a system with a 1gb graphics card?...i have been looking at systems with intergrated agp (eg ati hd4250) which are nearly a hundred pounds cheaper or more in some cases!...or would this eat into my valuble system ram and cause it to slow down?...

 

thanks in advance! 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 13, 2012 at 9:57:02 PM | feedback on new pc setup

#3

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


Personally I would not get that desktop off your link to ebay.  I would buy a computer off ebay, just not that one.  Depending on your budget, I'd go higher end on the graphics card, like a Quadro 4000 - 2Gb.  16Gb of 1333Mhz RAM is good enough.  The processor is misleading, but anything that gets over 3.0Ghz is necessary. Intel Xeon X5650 (2.66 to 3.06Ghz turbo) is what I would recommend.  64bit of course

 

ps. GeForce is for gaming, I would be surprised if Revit formally recognized it since it is Direct X type of software.

 

cheers

 

rbcameron


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jul 14, 2012 at 12:14:07 AM | feedback on new pc setup

#4

cadvis3d


active

Joined: Sun, Oct 7, 2007
10 Posts
No Rating


thats for the feedback

went ahead with my own spec in the end, since no one seemed to be interested!..lol

for anyone who is, i built the following:

amd 8 core bulldozer overclocked to 4.6 with air cooling, looking to bump up to 5 once water cooler arrives

16gb ddr ram

1tb hdd sata 2

ati 1gb hd card

high performance gaming case with 6 fans

700watt power supply

usb 3

Asrock MB with gigabite lan

windows 7 64bit

revit 2010 64bit

Total cost: £450   .... dam good i reckon

Renderings have gone from 40mins to around 7min (in revit)

artlantis is banging out the same image in around 2mins (300dpi)

 

Lots of people said to go for the i7, but i just could'nt stretch that far on terms of cost. The amd is a good processor so far and to be honest is my 3rd AMD powered pc.

ONE HAPPY BUNNY.... :O)


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Feedback and Suggestions

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 4:40:56 PM

3

Best computer setup for Revit 2001

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Mar 1, 2011 at 9:35:00 PM

2

feedback on my rendering [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Thu, May 14, 2009 at 4:43:02 AM

24

Office Template

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Nov 15, 2011 at 10:10:06 PM

1

laptop setup for revit [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Oct 19, 2006 at 3:06:52 PM

21

Site Stats

Members:

1781289

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151951

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0990

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights