RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

185 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Roof

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 29, 2005 at 5:36:49 PM | Roof

#1

carlosgt


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 3, 2005
40 Posts
No Rating


I have a gable roof, and another roof that dies in the side of the gable roof, i can do this using join roof, works well, and looks clen from outside. But when I go inside the house and I set a camera in the union on the both roof, I see part of the gable. So my question is : "Is there any way to avoid this? Is there any tool that allow me to join both roof and making them just one, removing the part of the roof (in this case part of the gable) that I do not want to see? like in reality is. in Autocad we have the substract tool for solids. Is there any tool like this in Revit? thanks.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2005 at 6:42:25 PM | RE: Roof

#2

Rythmick


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 23, 2004
160 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Not sure I'm following you, I'm assuming a T situation; If the 2 roofs are at the same plate elevation create it as one roof. Or you can cut out the section you want gone using an in place void in an elevation or section view.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 29, 2005 at 8:43:40 PM | RE: Roof

#3

carlosgt


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 3, 2005
40 Posts
No Rating


I am sorry, what is a void? I do not see it in my tools bars. By the way, I am using Revit 8.0. Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2005 at 11:34:18 PM | RE: Roof

#4

Rythmick


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 23, 2004
160 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Use the Help menu and search void. There are also some useful tutorials that come within the Help menu.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 30, 2005 at 6:48:50 AM | RE: Roof

#5

jyothi


active

Joined: Sat, Jul 30, 2005
52 Posts
No Rating


hai, i also had the same situation U can also remove the extra portion of the roof using create opening tool. For this--- go to modelling ---opening--choose the option pick a roof,floor or ceiling and cut vertically (this will allow u to pick the roof u need to cut) select the roof-- u will enter to sketch mode--sketch the shape which is extra and say finish sketch . This should work . Regards,

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 30, 2005 at 2:11:33 PM | RE: Roof

#6

carlosgt


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 3, 2005
40 Posts
No Rating


It worked!!! thanks too much to you guys for your help..

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Roof design problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 12:30:00 PM

12

Additional Roof will not attach to original roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 12:56:40 PM

5

problemed roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:12:30 PM

5

Roof problems!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 2, 2004 at 1:26:42 AM

5

Joining a conical roof to a gable roof or other rectangular roof

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, May 28, 2013 at 2:29:25 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1843178

Objects:

22620

Forum Posts:

152045

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2599

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights