RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

397 Users Online (269 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks >> creating the families

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 14, 2012 at 2:16:26 PM | creating the families

#1

vkaluzhny


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 6, 2011
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi everyone,

I am creating a family using special equipment Template. Does anyone knows how to create a drop-down selection box instead yes/no box for different selections

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 14, 2012 at 2:17:45 PM | creating the families

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 327 Votes


Are you talking about Type Catalogs?

Download the "Families Guide" from the AutoDESK site.


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 14, 2012 at 2:55:05 PM | creating the families

#3

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


This is made even easier with the ability to export familiy types natively...I don't think the guide has been updated by them recently so little features like that may or may not be in there.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=13080413&linkID=9243097


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 17, 2012 at 11:22:19 AM | creating the families

#4

johnstage


active

Joined: Thu, May 17, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


Do give any update if it is really made!!!


-----------------------------------

isdn

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 18, 2012 at 12:38:44 PM | creating the families

#5

vkaluzhny


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 6, 2011
2 Posts
No Rating


The answers that I got are not the answers that I was expecting. They are too generic on how to create the family types. I found the answer somewhere else and I would like to share with you. Best wishes to all.

http://www.cadsoft-consult.com/blogs/architecture/2010/06/revit-families-endless-combinations-with-nested-families-and-the-family-type-parameter/


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 21, 2012 at 2:56:27 PM | creating the families

#6

jlights


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 18, 2007
146 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Nesting a group of families into another family can really inflate family size because you'll have several complete families inside your family rather than several extrusions controlled by visibility parameters. Visbility parameters work well and help keep file size down. Drop-downs are nice but there is a cost involved in terms of family complexity and filesize.

I make a lot of families and wish Autodesk would build a drop-down list function into the family editor. If you really need to go with nested families, make sure you purge unused from each nested family before nesting it, and avoid the use of void extrusions. Then purge the main family, being sure to uncheck the nested families that you don't want purged from the purge list. Only use parameters for dimensions that will change, not for dimensions that remain the same.

Is there some reason you can't make separate families along the lines of Equipment 1 with Gizmo A and Equipment 2 with Gadget B?

 


-----------------------------------

jlights

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 3:56:23 PM | creating the families

#7

baald


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 4, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

 

we make family's parametric. I also give training

Visit our website for more information: www.architectassistentie.be


-----------------------------------

Lindsey Deruyck

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 7:13:06 PM | creating the families

#8

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


Create a new family type and apply a visibility setting based on that new family.


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

error in creating new families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 22, 2006 at 9:28:05 AM

4

Creating Specialty Equipment Families

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:43:42 PM

10

editing families when creating new

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 9, 2005 at 8:17:20 PM

3

Creating Families - bugs, limitations or my ignorance?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 11, 2005 at 2:58:38 AM

3

Inexperienced in creating families from scratch in Revit 2008... Help please???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 2, 2010 at 10:00:11 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1193999

Objects:

19489

Forum Posts:

149418

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4479

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights