RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

153 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Walk Through Editing

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 2, 2012 at 9:01:29 PM | Walk Through Editing

#1

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Hi, I have been trying to do a walk around for a building project I am doing. I made my circle around the building, went around it and clicked a bunch of key frames, opened it to edit, and went around my key frames to adjust the crop region. When I play it back, all of my crop region adjustments are un done. Can anyone tell me what I may be doing wrong? I have tried to adjust my crop regions a few times, and every time I play it, or try to export it they are all undone. It is starting to drive me batty.I have been following the instruction guide, and it says I should be able to just click to each key frame and adjust them. It is not working for me. Anyone... HELP!!!!!!!!!!

 

Thank you very much to whoever can give me some guidance.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 2, 2012 at 10:18:43 PM | Walk Through Editing

#2

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


You cannot alter the size of the crop regions -- There is only one crop region per view, even though it's eventually animated. 

 

Why are you adjusting the crop regions?  If you want to change what's in the view at a certain keyframe, you can rotate the camera angle relative to the path in plan.   When you're in edit mode, the option to redirect the camera at keyframes is the default, I believe.

 

you just edit walkthrough, go to plan, drag the camera icon to a keyframe dot, and then drag the small dot with crosshairs (between the view extents wedge) in a new direction.  In elevation, you can alter this to look either up or down.

 

It then blends these camera directions together between keyframes.



Edited on: Wed, May 2, 2012 at 5:23:53 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 2, 2012 at 10:33:12 PM | Walk Through Editing

#3

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Ok thanks alterego. I was under the immpession I had to change each one. So if I have a long building it is not a problem if the whole building does not show in each key frame, because they will blend together to travel the length of the building? I just need to adjust the height. Am I correct in assuming this? I have not had a lot of oppurtunity to work with walk throughs. I appreciate your help.

 

Thanks a bunch


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 2, 2012 at 11:10:34 PM | Walk Through Editing

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


If you want the whole building to fit in your shot, you'd have to be pretty far from the building.  but you can loop in closer.  What I mean when I say the cameras blend together is that... at one keyframe, you can be looking sidways while you walk forward, and if the next keyframe you're looking forward while walking foward, over the 60 frames between those shots, the view will slowly twist like a head. 

 

I've spent the last 3 days making walkthroughs for several of our projects after a really good reception at a public presentation convinced us they're important.  So it's fresh in my head.  Here's a link to one, If you've got a moment to watch.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxU6ykmDDzM

 

One of the most important things I've learned is to keep the camera angle smooth, and the path simple.  Otherwise, it makes people seasick. 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 2:54:40 PM | Walk Through Editing

#5

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Alterego, that is what I want my walkthroughs to look like. Nice and steady, not jerky. Can I ask what setting and what not you used when you did that one? So far this has been very helpfull. Thanks a bunch.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 5:26:37 PM | Walk Through Editing

#6

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


graphic-wise? 

 

Shading with edges.  With shadows and ambient shadows turned on, Sunlight at 70-100%, Ambient light at 0-20%  and shadows at 15%.

 

Ambient light tends to turn wood bright yellow, so even though it brightens things up, it can nuke your saturation.  Glad I could help!


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 5:33:24 PM | Walk Through Editing

#7

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I would like to do my walkthroughs in rendering. I was wondering about settings in terms of frame numbers, frames per second, etc. Stuff like that.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 6:03:20 PM | Walk Through Editing

#8

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


I used 3000 frames at 20 frames per second.  It starts feeling a little choppy at 15 fps.

 

Frankly, I've never had a successful rendered walkthrough, so I've given up.   Something always seems to go wrong before it finishes.  If I have my render materials set, I use the realistic view with shadows, etc.  That, at least, finishes in a couple hours. 

 

For smaller walkthroughs, renders are awesome, but a full-building one... that's a lot of processing and time.

 

But the most important thing is 20 FPS, and then adjust your number of frames up and down to control your overall speed.

--also, if you uncheck the box "uniform speed" in the frame# menu, you can change the speed modifier between key frames, and say, move at 0.5 speed around corners so you don't get whiplash, or speed up to 3.0 for exterior orbits that'd take forever.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 6:56:31 PM | Walk Through Editing

#9

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thats the stuff I need to know. I did try to render a walkthrough the other day, just playing around with it, I had it set to 1800 frames, render on medium. It went for 17 hours and was still at about 870 frames finished. I cancelled it, I watched what had been done and when it moved the colours would blur abit on the mullions. It definitly doesn't work as good as it does in 3ds Max. I just need to keep playing with it and learning more about it. Thanks Alterego, you have been a big help.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 7:07:04 PM | Walk Through Editing

#10

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


One more thing -- Compression quality.  I use microsoft video codec compression, and I set it to 20% "quality".  I resize the output so it's ~2000 pixels wide. 

 

Uncompressed AVI exports have glitched on me on multiple occasions.   I don't know why.  But a 4 gigabyte, 2 minute long video is not... friendly.   Compressing it a little brings it down to 500 megs, and then I put it in Windows Movie Maker (which is free,) and compress it down to 16 MB. 

 

But anyway -- compression quality is not... quality.  It's compression amount.  If you set the compression to 100%, your video will be a grainy unwatchable mess.  a tiny bit on the compression slider seems to prevent the video from saving with errors, and it still has crispness. 

 

That concludes my advice, i think.  Good luck!

 



Edited on: Thu, May 3, 2012 at 2:15:22 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Rendered Walk through

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Nov 22, 2010 at 10:58:08 PM

3

Walk thru

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 29, 2009 at 2:41:47 PM

2

Can I create a walk around?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 17, 2012 at 6:29:46 AM

3

Walk-Tool

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 1:07:42 PM

2

Creating walk through in Navis works

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 3:40:22 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1823335

Objects:

22584

Forum Posts:

152007

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0823

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights