RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

191 Users Online (77 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> New Revit Desktop Computer Build

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, May 1, 2012 at 12:14:36 AM | New Revit Desktop Computer Build

#1

cadboi08


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 24, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I'm looking at putting together a new PC (just the box) for primarily Revit 2012 (and future versions), but also Sketchup, 3DS Max and Photoshop.

The parts I'm thinking are:

CPU: i7 3930k (6-core)

MB: ASUS P9X79

RAM: CORSAIR 2x8GB

GRAPHICS: GTX570 (brand possibly ASUS)

PSU: CORSAIR AX750 watts

SSD: Crucial M4 128 GB SSD for the operating system

HDD: Seagate 1TB HDD for storage

CASE: ?

CPU Cooler: ?

 

Any comments, feedback and suggestions is welcome.

Has anyone had any experience with any of these parts on Revit, particularly the GTX570 graphics card? Is it suitable for the task?

Thank you


-----------------------------------

Check out RevitTube for Awesome Revit Videos Daily - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl-rjEtxDTE0DOrtqOV8aKw

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 1, 2012 at 2:33:24 PM | New Revit Desktop Computer Build

#2

pooanddoo


active
pooanddoo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 10, 2009
2 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I was lucky enough to get the GTX 680. It retails for $499. It runs Revit 2012 flawlessly. It may be overkill, but you can use the extra GPU power with 3DS Max iray or any other programs thta utilize CUDA. Get a case that has room, not necessarily a full tower. A good mid-size tower like the Corsair 600T White Edition is roomy and  and stylish. The rest of the specs look great. If you are planning to overclock that beast of a CPU, I would suggest the H100 as your cooler and getting at least an 850W PSU.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 4, 2012 at 6:05:59 AM | New Revit Desktop Computer Build

#3

Jamie351


active
Jamie351 Avatar

Joined: Mon, May 23, 2011
124 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


sounds like a good setup case id go thermaltake level 10 only is space is not an issue as its huge. if your going to overclock I would go liquid cooling if not then cool master hyper or something. the new AMD cards are also worth looking at.


-----------------------------------

Revit 2018........

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 7, 2012 at 5:34:09 PM | New Revit Desktop Computer Build

#4

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


I have a 128Gb SSD in my computer.  Let me tell you from experience, its not enough to handle all the other programs you want to put on it.  I've barely got 18Gb free and I have Revit 2011, 2012 on it.  3dsMax 2012. Design Review, Adobe Acrobat Pro, Photoshop, Illustrator on it.  If I want to start putting 2013 versions on it, I'll probably have to uninstall something else.

Otherwise your build looks great.  Why the GTX570 and not a Quadro card from Nvidia?

 

rbcameron


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 7, 2012 at 7:19:30 PM | New Revit Desktop Computer Build

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 35 Votes


Looks good. I too prefer the Nvidia card.

We also have a few 24GB RAM boxes here that stand out from the crowd. Especially on large projects like airports and hospitals.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 10:02:48 AM | New Revit Desktop Computer Build

#6

Justinsane


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 22, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi, 

 

ive been building a few diffrent systems for our company. 

we started with a 2600k 

16 GB ram 

90 GB SSD (agility 3) 

it worked pretty smooth with Revit 2012. 

but with larger complex model it started to reach its maximum (even after overclock to 4.4 Ghz turbo) 

 

since the release of revit / autocad 2013. 

we decided to make stronger workstation. 

 

result: 

3930K (now running at 4.6 ghz turbo )

32 GB ram DDR 3

2x 90 SSD agility 3 in raid 0 

VGA geforce 560 TI 1 gb. 

 

i must say so far so good!. 

works smooth as silk. 

and render time results are just awesome. (6 x core HT on ) 

 

my advice (since u have 2x 8 gb) get 4x 4gb (or even better 8x 4GB) 

this way you will use the maximum bandwith that ur mobo/cpu will provide. 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 19, 2007 at 10:39:34 AM

5

new computer

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 27, 2004 at 9:38:04 PM

3

The Ultimate Revit Computer System [ 1 2 3 4 ]

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Fri, Dec 17, 2010 at 10:47:37 PM

54

Buyng New Computer for Revit 2012 [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Dec 6, 2011 at 10:47:24 AM

22

Rendering images from the internet

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 19, 2011 at 10:23:27 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1781289

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151951

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8434

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights