RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (78 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Framing Plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Dec 21, 2005 at 9:32:24 PM | Framing Plan

#1

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to display the floor framing on my foundation plan. Do I need to individually place the joist with the structural tab of the design bar. Or is there away to display the framing specified in the floor family? And how am I going to show a few sheets of floor sheathing to indicate the layout? Thanks

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:48:14 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


The "floor" in Revit includes layers that represent the height of particular object (i.e. 9.5" TJI, 3/4" strudi-floor). The objects that make up these layers are not really there, just allocating the space for them. If you want to actually show the floor joist layout you will have to create it. It might be possible to do with a beam system then remove/add joists where needed for penetrations, bath tubs etc. The plywood layout could be accomplished using a 4'x8' surface pattern on the floor system. You could then align the plywood joints to the joists. HTH Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 22, 2005 at 3:08:27 AM | RE: Framing Plan

#3

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I'm curious about the sheets of sheathing. Are you trying to show where the layout starts? I just have a leader pointing to the first joist labled "start layout here"

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 22, 2005 at 7:36:05 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#4

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Tomdinmn, you say I maybe able to show the floor joist using the beam system, my question as a novice, is that the best way to show the joist. Are there other methods that I'm not aware of? I'm also wondering what problems I'm going to have when I do the roof framing. Framerman, in my experience, it's best to illustrate the plywood sheathing layout. The carpenters will always figure out a layout, you hadn't figured on. I gather from your answers that framing plans require individual placement of the framing components. Should I "group" the joist, and do I assign parameters to them? If I only show a few sheets of floor sheathing, for the layout, does Revit track these components? Are the part of the original model, or are they "display only" elements? Thanks for the help.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 22, 2005 at 8:21:38 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


I don't do residential, so I am using my commercial experience in placing bar joists with a beam system to suggest using a beam system for residential floor joists. Of course you can use any of the standard Revit methods of placing the joists: 1. each one individually 2. place one and copy it 3. place one and array it 4. any combo of the above You will have to place the rim joists and doubleed up ones as needed too. The question needs to be asked though, do you really want or need to model every joist? I guess it depends on your company standards, project size etc. Faced with the same task in residential, I may simply do a framing plan using linework. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 23, 2005 at 12:56:48 AM | RE: Framing Plan

#6

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


OzMan. If you have Revit 8, then under structural you can use the beam system. I'm parallel with you, I'm trying to show floor joists on my second floor, but I'm having problems where the beam system snaps to. Rim joists are non existant, but I was told to try using a wall with the properties I need. I've been a residential framer for 20 years and have seen hundreds of floor framing plans. Most TJI floor framing has it's own plan from the manufacturer which usually states a start point for layout with a leader. Others prints with dimensional lumber specified don't even show where to start. It is definitely important where the layout starts. I personally would put a note there on your sheathing just to make sure. You never know who's on the other end, lol. I'm glad you're making an effort to tell the people in the field which side they should be starting on. Most don't bother.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 23, 2005 at 9:21:07 AM | RE: Framing Plan

#7

rdesign


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 9, 2004
8 Posts
No Rating


Ozman If you really wanted to you could use the beam system as sugested by Tomdinmn and only show on framing plans, or use lines on your framing plans to represent the joists. If you use lines use Detail lines as these will give you more versitility if you set your visibilty to hidden line. If you really want to show the start of your sheathing layout, use an in place family to represent and only show on framing plans, turn off in floorplans. Here is a simple example

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2005 at 10:28:05 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#8

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the replys. Okay, so I get that I have to place the joist individually. Tomdinmn, you ask do I need to model every joist? I should have asked that in the first place. Since this is my first time using Revit in a project and I am just a one man operation, I want to know what is the smart thing to do. I know Revit tracks the familys, components and all kinds of the things. I haven't done door and window schedules yet. I'm wondering, could I or my contractor do take off's? Will Revit generate a materials list for the project, including all the sticks (lumber)? Getting back to the framing plane. . . When I place the individual joist on the framing plan and I also have that floor area defined by the floor family, I'm I creating redundent information and does that effect anything else? Framerman, I aligned my joist with a grid line, than arrayed the rest. Sheating layout is important to the engineer, when a floor cantilevers from it's support. Rdesign, Your attachment is exactly what I'm trying to do. I'll give the detail lines a try and look in family explorer to see if I can find a sheet of plywood. Thanks everyone.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:15:12 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#9

rdesign


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 9, 2004
8 Posts
No Rating


You know, I think I would use a in place family for the rim joist. Sketch a path and lock it to your floor perimeter and sweep a profile along the path.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 1, 2006 at 7:06:29 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#10

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


No, Oz, you don't have to individually show each joist if you're using Revit 8, click on the "beam systems" in the "structural" tab, view the "properties" to select the framing type and spacing, then draw an outline in the area you want the joists to run (I draw my line a few inches past any girder beams to show the joists overlapping) and click "finish sketch". My problem is: Once I have created a floor, and then the floor framing, if I try to cut an opening in either the second floor view or the second floor framing view, while it will cut through the "floor" itself, including the floor sheeting, the floor framing still runs through the opening, even though there is a interior bearing wall on both sides of the opening. Do I have to manually cut back the joists? And while I'm thinking of it (I'm a newbie here), when I do the topo/site plan, will the topo show up in the building elevations, especially if it's a sloping lot? Thanks! JOHN

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 2, 2006 at 12:18:23 AM | RE: Framing Plan

#11

rdesign


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 9, 2004
8 Posts
No Rating


Josta Edit beam system, duplicate your opening, finish sketch. All done

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 2, 2006 at 2:05:44 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#12

MackAttack


active

Joined: Sat, Apr 2, 2005
22 Posts
No Rating


Hey just also remember if you are working with a beam system and need to edit an individual beam then you can just unpin it and work on that one beam individually. As for openings do like rdesign said and just edit the beam system and draw in your opening in sketch mode and it will cut out the beams as needed. Also if you want to show the beams you could create a family that is just a model line and add that to the floor plan using array or similar and this way you could still schedule it as needed and it will be smaller in file size. Then if you need to show the beams in section you can have a repeating detail and draft them in that way. This goes for the plywood as well create a family that is stretchable but only is model lines then you can add this to the top of the floor system and still schedule it.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 3, 2006 at 10:10:28 PM | RE: Framing Plan

#13

OzMan


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 12, 2005
73 Posts
No Rating


Thanks josta, rdesign and MackAttack. I hadn't stumbled on beam systems yet and so I was working with individual structural members. All your post helped me figuring out the fine tuning of my model. josta, I'm also having trouble showing the grade line at the elevations. I thought I could trace a line over the grade at the building, but I can only draw a line in plan view. I haven't figured a work around. MackAttack, thanks for the tip about unpinning the individual joist. I did add the floor beams individually, but because I also used the same size beams in my roof framing I had to omit my plumb cuts that I created for my sloping roof. I could not create seperate floor and roof beam family's. Any ideas on that? Thanks again everyone.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

wood framing plan

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jan 1, 2015 at 3:10:12 AM

2

Framing Plan - Walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 15, 2013 at 12:37:48 PM

3

Floor plan is missing in view

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 4, 2016 at 3:03:46 PM

1

Sloped framing and framing plans

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 12, 2006 at 12:47:26 AM

0

Can't see Structural Framing from attached Revit Link in any Floor Plan

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 8, 2018 at 9:01:11 PM

11

Site Stats

Members:

1567746

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0150

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights