RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

143 Users Online (141 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Linking consultant models from an earlier version

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 11, 2012 at 5:37:40 PM | Linking consultant models from an earlier version

#1

juliep


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 11, 2012
4 Posts
No Rating


If I have built an arch model in 2012 can our structural model be built and linked in an older version?  What do you do if your consultants do not have the same version you are currently running? 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 12, 2012 at 8:03:11 AM | Linking consultant models from an earlier version

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


This is one of those Revitisms ... "You have to think ahead".  Revit has never been backward's compatable.  You can not open or link in a later Revit model than the Revit seesion you are in.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 16, 2012 at 5:51:01 PM | Linking consultant models from an earlier version

#3

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Yes Revit is not backward compatible, but technically you can link an older model without it directly affecting that disciplines original model. Revit will upgrade the linked model for the session you are working in (and continue to do so whenever you open your file with that one linked in) but it will obviously not affect the original linked consultant file.


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 17, 2012 at 7:45:48 AM | Linking consultant models from an earlier version

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


revitape....

 

You missread the original post.  The poster wants to go the other way.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 17, 2012 at 9:09:55 AM | Linking consultant models from an earlier version

#5

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Ah I see that now. My bad!


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

CONSULTANT USING VERSION 12... IM USING VERSION 13...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 9:52:05 AM

2

Linking Other Models

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 1:35:54 PM

5

Linking the Autodesk Advanced Models Together

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, May 19, 2014 at 2:02:04 PM

1

Linking models with multiple sites

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 6, 2017 at 9:43:09 AM

7

How do we retain visibility graphics settings for our consultant files?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 12, 2015 at 2:18:49 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1987111

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152185

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3924

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights