RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

242 Users Online (146 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Mar 31, 2012 at 2:15:44 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#1

mrbeandiesel


active
mrbeandiesel Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jan 9, 2009
69 Posts
1.5 Stars: 4 Votes


What is the usual and recommended workflow in modelling architectural? Is column modelled/placed too in architectural? because structural and architectural models are done at the same time and linked by each other..


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 2, 2012 at 12:25:55 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


We copy monitor the structural columns in our architectural model.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 3, 2012 at 9:05:46 AM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#3

mrbeandiesel


active
mrbeandiesel Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jan 9, 2009
69 Posts
1.5 Stars: 4 Votes


 

In our situation architectural is usually the first to layout then structural will link the AR model,

My other question is if you copy monitor columns from structural do you leave the gap of walls between columns?

Thanks WWhub!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 3, 2012 at 12:17:10 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


We lay it out first too, including columns.  The structural then typical copies (not CM) our columns and changes them per their design.  When we then link in their model, we delete our original columns and CM the structural.  This allows the structural to be owners of their items.  (They would be owners anyway if they just CM'd ours but our E's prefer it this way.)

 

I don't know exactly what you mean by gap in walls at columns.  We will run our walls through and handle any required clearances (if any) in details.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 10, 2012 at 2:25:19 AM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#5

mrbeandiesel


active
mrbeandiesel Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jan 9, 2009
69 Posts
1.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Do you run your walls through columns or leave a gap in the walls for columns?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 10, 2012 at 11:44:10 AM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


It depends upon the project.  Structural columns will show no matter how the wall is made.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 3, 2012 at 4:42:12 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#7

joac21


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 3, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


so when you are in a design stage you make a volume wich you know is a column but its not a Structural element in revit ??


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 3, 2012 at 4:47:18 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


I don't believe I said that at all.  I don't know what you mean by volumn.  I use either architectural or structural columns - depending on what they should be.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 3, 2012 at 5:02:22 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#9

joac21


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 3, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


sorry im newbie.. what im trying to do is use an "I" steel section column in a project but i dont have any of those in architectural column they are in structural columns.......


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 3, 2012 at 6:12:16 PM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


That's right.  There are no steel architectural columns so if you have a settl column, you use a structural column.  I you are an architect doing a concrete column, you might use either. 

 

You need to experiment with both architectural and structural, rectanglar columns and place them intersecting a brick wall - watch what happens.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 20, 2019 at 4:42:28 AM | Architectural Vs. Structural Linking

#11

vedika31


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2019
0 Posts
No Rating


Well, that's really depending on your workflow. Are you going to work with a central file or linked files?Central File > Structural members are dealt with by the Structural engineers. They exist in their own worksets, but the elements can be altered by the architectural guys by borrowing them (although I wouldn't recommend that). In my experience most of the time the walls are cut into two separate pieces: the structural and non-structural wall. the windows and doors are hosted on the non-structural walls. The structural engineer can place and adjust openings to match the windows.Floor and roof decks: same here. They're done by the structural engineers. Finish layers, insulation and other stuff by the building engineers.Although it also happens a lot that the architect / building engineers start by placing "dummy" structural members which get switched out by the structural engineers later. All depends on when they come into play.Linked files: Almost the same as above although you could look into the copy/monitor functions


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

linking structural file to architectural file

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 6:04:49 PM

2

Linking Models

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 9:22:34 PM

2

Manipulate Structural Grid in Architectural model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 14, 2011 at 10:11:47 PM

4

Linking structural model to architectural model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 9, 2007 at 11:05:11 PM

2

Odd problem when linking files

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 3, 2008 at 4:18:12 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1418584

Objects:

20399

Forum Posts:

150463

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 9.3061

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights