RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

237 Users Online (86 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 5:29:22 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#1

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I have two adjacent rooms that require interlocking volumes which have furn. to schedule in each (see diagram). Revit is not understanding how to do this and fails to recognize the rooms that thse objects are located in and thus fails to schedule them properly. I'm not sure how else to approach this and would appreciate some guidence on how to solve this. Thanks.



Attached Images

104609_FURN_SCHED_CONFLICT.gif

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 5:42:38 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


Your problem is probably the family.  Th family has to completely reside in the host room to be scheduled there.  That includes all elements, linework and INVISIBLE LINES!  Too many people use invisible lines as locating tools.  BAD PRACTICE.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 6:48:17 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#3

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


That's a good point. There is one piece that we have that this could be a problem for. But the other problem is that the room A in the diagram will not show the portion that interlocks in plan despite the bounding objects. Given my view depth I would think that this would display correctly as well.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 7:20:48 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


I just noticed that for the horizontal seperation, you indicate the floor - room bounding.  Floors do nt room bound vertically.  Maybe that is your problem?

 

There should be no reason why these rooms don't function correctly if bounded correctly.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 8:52:39 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#5

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I remodeled the family and it still doesnt work. There are no invisible lines and the origin should more than fall within the room that it should schedule in. Revit will not give any values for it all. Also, the rooms will not take the shape that I need, which appears to be critical for getting this to work. How can I get the shapes of the rooms that I need? Can Revit do this? Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 9:03:42 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


Works fine here...

 

Remember - rooms are vertical.  If any part of you furnishings is below that room bounding floor (or ceiling) - it will not be in the room either.



Attached Images

104622_ScreenHunter05_Mar._26_17.01.gif104622_ScreenHunter03_Mar._26_17.00.gif

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 9:08:01 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#7

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I turned on volume computations and Revit got it have right and half wrong. I'm really at a loss. Everything is bounding correctly but not producing the right results. Ceiling is bounding, walls are bound and the little floor for this bench is bounding and producing the correct volume in only one of the two rooms.



Attached Images

104623_FURN_SCHED_CONFLICT02.gif

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 9:19:57 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#8

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


One caveat to this issue: all of these elements are in a design option: the rooms, the walls, and the furniture. Would this affect it? Thanks again.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 9:20:43 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


Sure wish you had posted this earlier

 

I have never seen any room step out vertically.  In other words they will not get larger as they go up.  Only smaller.

 

Sorry


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 9:36:29 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#10

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Say it ain't so! How could it not do both? Doesn't it simply flood a space to every bounding object? If for sure no: do you have a suggestion for how to have the furniture orgin extend to be within that space? I tried modeling the family where the reference plane origin was set set to be within that space. But, alas, no luck still. Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 27, 2012 at 12:29:08 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


I would probably put an invisible furn family in the room for scheduling purposed and filter the real one out.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 27, 2012 at 1:29:45 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#12

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I'll give that a try. Thanks so much for your help!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 27, 2012 at 2:33:07 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#13

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


have you checked to be sure that the furniture is on the correct level? (take a section to check).  Also in that section, enable the visibibilty of the room boundary to make sure both go all the way to the floor.  If that doesn;t work, explain to us what the schedule looks like; does it list the missing piece of furniture at all?


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 27, 2012 at 3:26:13 PM | Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

#14

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I'll give that a try. Thanks so much for your help!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

room bounding problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 28, 2017 at 9:03:50 AM

13

BIG curtain wall room bounding problem!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 3:31:31 PM

3

Room Bounding - Room area changes, then changes back for no reason!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:22:40 PM

3

Ceiling not bounding room

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 6, 2010 at 9:01:35 PM

1

Specific Looking Holes in Sectional Room Boundary

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 12, 2018 at 8:45:39 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1633541

Objects:

22068

Forum Posts:

151657

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6970

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights