RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

54 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Gap between section head and tail and middle line

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 10:27:20 AM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#1

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 22, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


I made my section head and tail smaller,  but I can't figure out how to make the connecting line longer so that there is nogap between the section head and the line or the section tail and the line.

 

I show an image, it's circled in red.

 

Many thanks

 

JLB

 

 



Attached Images

104599_Doc11.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 10:30:27 AM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Edit the family - turn on and adjust the reference planes.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 10:33:40 AM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#3

JoBrowns


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 22, 2011
67 Posts
No Rating


Yes I realized that.

Also mentioned in the following thread:

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=2294

It was the reference planes that I was flummoxed on. Once i figured that, all was well.

Many thanks

This is a wonderful site.

JLB

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 13, 2012 at 11:36:25 AM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#4

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I am having the same issue with the gaps in the middle line.  I have no problem with the tail but when I change the reference planes in the section head it does not resolve the gap issue.  I followed the link JoBrowns posted and kind of got it to work but the section head in the family looks very disjointed.  I attached a file showing what I mean (with original section head and modified section head).  Is there not a better way to get this to work right?



This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 17, 2012 at 11:52:50 AM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#5

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


The fix I had didn’t work when I put the section in at a different angle.  That tipped me off to what the real fix is.  You need to draw a small line to fill the gap from the edge of your section head to the vertical reference plan.  I snapped the small extension line to the horizontal reference plan (which I am guessing rotates depending on the direction of your section cut.  I attached an image of the new section head.



Attached Images

110056_Section_Head.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 17, 2012 at 5:22:37 PM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#6

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


When scaling the circle be sure to have the origin in the same place as the original. If im not wrong it is in the intersection of the 2 lines.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 20, 2012 at 8:13:56 AM | Gap between section head and tail and middle line

#7

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


The intersection between the horizontal and vertical reference planes is where the section cut line starts from.  The center between the two vertical reference planes is where the section head rotates around.  So your text needs to be centered between the vertical reference planes or it will be skewed (since it does not rotate with the section head).  If you want your section head (circle) to remain in the same place depending on the direction of your section cut, it also needs to be centered between the two reference planes.  That is why I added the little tail between the section head and the intersection between the vertical and horizontal reference planes. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Section Head/Tail Visibility issue - RAC2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 30, 2009 at 10:23:10 AM

0

Section tags not connecting to Tail

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 17, 2012 at 11:54:04 AM

5

Section Head Color Won't Change No Matter What! AAAAARGH!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 5:01:01 PM

3

Adding a Tail to Interior Elevation Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 14, 2014 at 1:10:11 PM

2

Trying to Import Filled Section Head

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 27, 2016 at 2:32:45 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1963758

Objects:

22850

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6522

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights