RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

341 Users Online (173 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 6:31:05 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#1

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Has anyone found a good way to deal with this:

I have a 5' double doors, I demo them, revit inserts a new wall in the hole, I place a new cased opening 5' wide, get more demo lines in the "new wall" filled in previously...its kind of a mess.

What is the best way (graphicaly) to turn a swing door into a cased opening? so as not to get that "new wall" filling in first?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 7:09:56 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Why not design options?

DO#1 - Has the host wall and swing door demoed.  This DO is set to show in demo plans.

 

DO#2 - Has a copy of the host wall with cased opening. This DO set to show only in new plans.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 7:36:36 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#3

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


This should be in phases.  The double doors are built in Existing and demoed in New Construction.The cased opening is created in New Construction.  It should do what you want.    I can;t imagine a contracter building a double door, immediately demoing it, then putting in a cased opening, so they should not all be in the same phase.   The caveat, is that if you are trying to use the cased opening family from the revit library it has dashed lines that show up in plan.  Modify the family not to show those (or download one from revit city)-it may be what you are seeing


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 7:47:58 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#4

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I like the DO option. seems a little involved though.

Lizard. you're not quite getting it. When you demo an existing door from and existing wall, you get a new wall fill in, you cant get rid of this. you cant delete it. all im doing is trying to make an existing swing door into a cased opening...

What I did was: I just placing a new cased opening in an existing wall. adding a note. Instead of demo-ing the existing swing door. I just deleted that part.

still, I got it to be pretty good graphically, just a little weird with the "new wall fill in"


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 7:59:05 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#5

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I thought I was getting it.  You have an existing french door which (in "reality"-I am not speaking Revit here), you want to eliminate.  But, you don;t want to close the wall off, you just want to remove the leafs, hinges, patch the jamb (or replace) so it is a cased opening.  In Revit speak, you are demoing the EXISTING french doors in the NEW CONSTRUCTION phase, and making it a cased opening in the NEW CONSTRUCTION phase.  As such, you need to add a cased opening the same width as the old door.  See the attached image.....I don;t THINK I am losing my mind here, but crazy people don;t know they are going crazy, so I may be in trouble

 

EDIT:  Please let me know if I am going crazy, or this is what you were looking for.  Thanks.



Edited on: Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 3:08:24 PM

Attached Images

104438_walls.JPG

-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 8:29:59 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#6

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


OK Liz, you're not going crazy!, you got it in RL

Its just IN REVIT you cant get from double doors to plain cased opening, because the demo tool adds the wall bit. then the new door cuts that new wall out...in revit. just a new cased opening, and a note saying "remove (E) Doors, leave opening" is enough. :-)

ps. THANKS FOR THE DRAWING! even if it was quick, I appreciate the time you took to do that.

-Warc.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 8:37:49 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#7

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


no worries...a picture is worth....well, you know...you're an architect!  I hear you on the double effort.  Although I have found it helpful at times because by adding the cased opening, it will show up in my door schedule, and then in remarks I can say to patch and repair, etc (just in case I forget to add the note!).  So, at least in my opinion there are advantages.  That's the other reason why I made my own cased opening, because Revit's is not a "door" for some silly reason...it's a generic model.  We have always numbered our COs as if they were doors and included them on our door schedule.  Anyway.


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 9:39:44 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#8

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Now why didn't I think of that! door family cased opening....niiiice.

DUh!

Thanks

 


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 23, 2012 at 3:37:08 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#9

mdvandenakker


active

Joined: Fri, May 20, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


This is an odd work around but it seems to be working for me graphically...

Create a cased opening in existing to the proper width, then place your door in the exact same place. Set the doors to created existing, demo in demo phase. Make your cased opening created existing, no demo.

Attached you see the demo drawing on the left and the new const on the right.



Attached Images

104558_doorcapture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 23, 2012 at 5:34:24 PM | Demo door, make cased opening, no fill in wall

#10

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Yes, I almost went that direction too. Its cool in one respect, Revit really does give you a lot of options...:-)

one just has to ask


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Demo Door/New Wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 14, 2005 at 6:56:27 PM

5

Revit 2011-Putting a door on Demo but keeping the opening in the wall?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 7, 2011 at 7:29:20 PM

1

Demo Doors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 14, 2012 at 2:28:24 PM

4

How do you center a cased opening in a wall?

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Jan 12, 2011 at 7:49:38 PM

4

demo opening in existing wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 21, 2012 at 8:38:17 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1652340

Objects:

22103

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 30.2521

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights