RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

349 Users Online (183 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> one Revit license, two laptops

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 8:25:41 AM | one Revit license, two laptops

#1

Kbtrpnis


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 16, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

Is there a way to use one Revit license on two different laptops? Note that we don't use it at the same time, so one person is using Revit monday til wednesday, the another thursday and friday...


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 12:10:54 PM | one Revit license, two laptops

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You have always been able to borrow your license in Revit.  Read this topic in your HELP:

License Borrowing <  That will tell you how to do this for both network and stand-a-lone installations.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 12:47:05 PM | one Revit license, two laptops

#3

Kbtrpnis


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 16, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Thanks! i followed the menu and it works Smile


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 1:07:42 PM | one Revit license, two laptops

#4

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Read through the End User License Agreement (EULA).  You are allowed to install it on two seperate computers used by the same person.  As such, if you used Revit at your office, you can install it again on your home computer or laptop, so long as when you are using it at home, noone is using your computer at work.  Technically speaking, installing it the way you are suggesting would violate the terms of a double install.  

As WWHUB suggested, the license transfer utility may be an option, wiht two caveats: 1. You each need to create o r have an Autodesk ID, and as per this document: http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/ENU/pdfs/adsk_lic.pdf

 

"Although the License Transfer Utility allows you to transfer your product license between computers, your license agreement may not allow the installation of an Autodesk product on more than one computer. Read your license agreement to find out whether your product license permits the use of the License Transfer Utility."


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 1:25:56 PM | one Revit license, two laptops

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Lizard - He said two users.  That's why I pointed him to the borrow - that's OK for two different users.  Installing does not violate the EULA in any case.   Anyone can install the program but it will only run in demo mode if no license is transfered. 

 

The borrow works for two different users because it actually deactivates the installed license when it is borrowed so you can not physically run both at the same time.  So pay attention to your borrow time designation.  You can return a license early.

 

The dual license is only available to the same user.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 1:43:28 PM | one Revit license, two laptops

#6

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I understand all that.  I was just giving him all the information he could need.  Further, and straight from the horse's mouth, Autodesk says, " your license agreement may not allow the installation of an Autodesk product on more than one computer". Note it says "installation" not "registering"  It is always best to check, as Autodesk does follow up on these things and now that sharing your license is online, they will be able to follow that as well.  Big Brother is watching! I agree with you that it should be fine for them to share the license, I am just advocating that he review his EULA.


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit System Requirements for laptops?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:28:12 PM

5

Some computers can't find a license

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 22, 2016 at 9:05:06 PM

2

Borrowing license to work at home

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 1, 2011 at 3:32:11 PM

9

Laptops w/ Integrated Graphics Card

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:33:42 PM

3

Changing License

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Mar 28, 2007 at 2:12:03 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1652340

Objects:

22103

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1911

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights