RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

203 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> family wont load

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 9:17:48 PM | family wont load

#1

joewallace


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 17, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


i made a family for a block model of a site im doing but when i load it into a project nothing comes up. i cant understand what im doing wrong, can anyone help please


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 9:47:26 PM | family wont load

#2

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Check the following, if you haven;t already:

 

1.  Zoom extents in a default 3D view to make sure it isn;t placed somewhere else.

2.  If you don;t see it after #1, above.  Click the light bulb to show hidden elements and zoom extents again.

3.  If that doesn;t work, check your view properties (VV) to see if something is turned off.

 


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 9:56:48 PM | family wont load

#3

joewallace


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 17, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


i tried all of those and nothing works, i used load into project then tried to load family on the menu bar and it asked me about over writing it so its there somewhere but i still cant find it


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 10:55:01 PM | family wont load

#4

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Make sure you are looking in the correct category in the project browser. If you are unsure of the category, open the family and look in Family Categor and Parameters. It may not be set to what you think it is.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 1:19:57 PM | family wont load

#5

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Go to the project browser, find it under families and drag and drop the family into your project.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 7:25:22 PM | family wont load

#6

jlights


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 18, 2007
146 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Make sure you are putting on the appropriate workset if you are using worksets. if you are putting it on a workset that is turned off in that view, you won't see it. Turn on all worksets and see if it appears, move it to the right workset, and turn off the worksets you don't need.

It might also be that the family's category is turned off in that view. Check to see what the family's category is and make sure that category is visible in that view.

Open the family and make sure that it is visible in plan view or whatever view you are using in the project. If the family geometry is turned off in plan view, it won't show up in your plans, but it will still be in the project. Either turn the geometry on, or, better, leave it turned off and create a 2D symbolic representation of it in plan view Cryingusing symbolic lines), which will be visible in project plan views.

Make sure that you are placing the family within the view range of the view. If it's outside the view range, it won't show.

Hope this helps.


-----------------------------------

jlights

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 21, 2012 at 3:39:48 PM | family wont load

#7

joewallace


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 17, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


thanks for the help everyone, i finally got it working


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

the family mass wont load into my project

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Nov 10, 2010 at 7:46:28 PM

3

Cant figure out why Family wont load into project

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 3:45:17 PM

3

Cant load families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 5, 2010 at 6:05:32 PM

4

Cannot load family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2011 at 10:22:02 PM

2

Reivt will not load door family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:23:13 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1654256

Objects:

22110

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.4043

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights