RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

341 Users Online (186 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Can't amend family size in model

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 1:39:20 PM | Can't amend family size in model

#1

MEBDesign


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 9, 2011
45 Posts
No Rating


Hi I've modelled a bench as a new family and believe I have it setup right to allow me to change the bench length when in model_image attached), however when I import the family the bench length is greyed out and I can't change it, any help would be much appreciated.

Revit 2012

 

Many Thanks

 



Attached Images

104355_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 1:47:50 PM | Can't amend family size in model

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Are you sure you can't? 

I think it is a type parameter and you have to edit the type in the project or create a new type.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 2:16:24 PM | Can't amend family size in model

#3

MEBDesign


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 9, 2011
45 Posts
No Rating


Screenshot of what I have, can't find a way to alter it, very confusing



Attached Images

104361_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 2:18:12 PM | Can't amend family size in model

#4

jlights


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 18, 2007
146 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


the problem is that you have a formula ("=2000mm") in the formula field, so your bench can only ever be 2000mm. Remove the formula. then click on the parameter name in the family and make sure it is set to instance, not type. This will allow you to edit the length in the project on a per instance  basis.

OR, you could make several types of the desired lengths, and then just place the appropriate type where you need it. In this case your length parameter should be set to Type, not Instance.


-----------------------------------

jlights

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 2:19:56 PM | Can't amend family size in model

#5

MEBDesign


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 9, 2011
45 Posts
No Rating


J Lights - Many Thanks, that has solved it! Cheers


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can i get Framing to amend to Warped slab.

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 6:10:52 PM

3

Amend slope of sloping framing beams

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 15, 2008 at 2:55:19 PM

0

Revit2013 - 'Pipe Size' Parameter Can't Be Used

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 10, 2013 at 7:25:34 PM

3

Can't copy Lights - "Can't place inserts outside of hosts. !

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 11, 2012 at 4:24:17 PM

7

Create a new family from a 'model in place'

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 17, 2017 at 6:57:22 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1757590

Objects:

22372

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4401

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights