RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

212 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Cut a void from an extrusion

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 3:13:59 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#1

twade


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 11, 2009
12 Posts
No Rating


I created an extrusion for a shape that I need and I need to remove a small portion which I thought I could do by creating a void form extrusion.  But I get an error when I try to create the void form.  It says there is no geometry to cut.  Does it not consider the extrusion as a solid geometry?  How can I get this to work?

Thanks in advance.......Terry


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 3:34:21 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#2

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Did you physically cut the solid? After you draw the void, you need to use the cut command to cut it out of the solid before you finish the component.


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 3:36:06 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#3

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Are the solid and void extrusions in the same family? Does the void intersect the solid?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 4:03:55 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#4

twade


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 11, 2009
12 Posts
No Rating


I tried to make the cut again and I can make the void form that I need but when I tried to cut the geometry it won't let me pick the extrusion I created.  It will let me pick the void form, but I need to be able to pick my extrusion first and then the void form.  I guess maybe I need to somehow be sure my first extrusion is a solid.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 4:34:14 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


If what you are trying to cut is an in-place family, then you need to create the void in that family.  Edit the in-place family.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 4:51:42 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#6

twade


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 11, 2009
12 Posts
No Rating


I modeled my first extrusion as an in-place model. I modeled my void form in the same manner.  Do I need to model my first model and make the void form before finishing the model?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 4:56:48 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#7

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


yes


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 7, 2012 at 6:13:23 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#8

twade


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 11, 2009
12 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the assistance everyone....I finally got it figured out and all is good with the Revit world again.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 17, 2015 at 11:52:51 AM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#9

spinxy


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 12, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hey,

This ones driving me nuts, I'm having the same problem, and still can't see what step i'm missing.

I'm using 2014 and 2015, all the tuturials on youtube seem to be in earlier versions and looks different.

how do i model the void form before finishing the first extrusion?

I'm using same family category (generic models) for both, using different different names.

Appreciate any help, this has help me up all day!

 

Thanks

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 17, 2015 at 1:38:29 PM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


You can finish the solid extrusion(s) in you in-place family but before finishing the family, you create the void form(s) to modify the solid(s).  Stay in the family until finished.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 19, 2015 at 7:08:44 AM | Cut a void from an extrusion

#11

spinxy


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 12, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, i found it, i just needed to select the create ribbon which give me the void tools.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Void Won't Cut Extrusion

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 13, 2013 at 5:04:26 PM

10

Void Sweep won't cut extrusion

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 24, 2012 at 8:02:42 PM

9

Void Extrusion in window family problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 18, 2015 at 8:55:23 PM

3

void extrusion not cutting solid extrusion

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 10, 2008 at 8:47:43 PM

3

Void extrusion wont cut mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 22, 2007 at 5:27:01 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1510202

Objects:

21237

Forum Posts:

151233

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3744

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights