RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> When to model stairs by level or as a vertical model?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 at 11:02:55 AM | When to model stairs by level or as a vertical model?

#1

SmileyWhiplash


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 30, 2012
12 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi I hope I am using the correct forum category. I am managing a Revit project in melbourne, australia a vccc hospital in fact.

The model is constructed of links by level so it's a horizontal model that was requested by architects.

I have some young chappies modelling happily away by level and now the stairs and their cores have taken a long time

to model by level but we have to do it this way for data extraction and so that links don't get forgotten.  Now I am going to

change to modelling a vertical model as this hasn't worked. How should this be implemented?

Should it be a separate linked file or should it be placed on the lowest level and linked in? Will this affect the data extractors who wan't 

to tag and keynote levels? What if people forget to link in the stairs?

There is an architect at work who constantly puts in and takes out stairs as he doesn't understand that level 0 needs

to be linked in to see stairs,lifts floors below at level 1 and etc for all above levels, can someone provide a solution for this?

many thanx,

desparate BIM manager

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 at 2:05:00 PM | When to model stairs by level or as a vertical model?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You don't have to have seperate projects for each level. << That's a very limited CAD thought process.

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 19, 2012 at 8:03:43 AM | When to model stairs by level or as a vertical model?

#3

SmileyWhiplash


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 30, 2012
12 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Firstly thanx for taking the time for Revit noobs,

Though a point of contention...

And that is it's not BIM then is it?

I can't do a cost estimate for continuous walls, even though the engineers will eventually take control of our model them and we can't control the modelling, they have a vertical sectored model of the VCCC.

How can I be overlord of data extraction when the walls are one like shazam's ring, I need walls separated by level?

please help


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Unable to create floors or stairs in my model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 at 10:59:26 PM

3

How should links be loaded into a main model file? <Noob question>

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Dec 9, 2011 at 2:42:52 PM

7

Modelling stairs and balustrades by level.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 8, 2011 at 8:44:27 AM

5

linking a multi-level model into a single level model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 28, 2012 at 3:49:03 PM

9

How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 29, 2015 at 6:53:58 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1650866

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2286

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights