RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

196 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:59:03 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#1

zaklee


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 13, 2005
17 Posts
No Rating


Has anyone experienced issues printing a mass element with surface patterns? I have several masses with a stone pattern assigned to the surfaces. In the 3-D views I've created, everything looks fine. When I print though, I can see through them as though the view setting is set to "wireframe" even though it isn't. Also, all other objects print correctly - even those that have the same pattern/material assigned to the faces.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 8, 2007 at 2:03:49 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#2

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I have that same issue with my columns I made from massings.  Anybody got any ideas to fix this?

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 8, 2007 at 2:28:02 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#3

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I'm surprised that it even prints as wireframe. I was under the impression that a "mass" will not print at all. I just tested it and mine didn't print wireframe no matter what material I apply to it. If you want to build an object that should be seen/printed then build an in-place family. You can model it the same way you built your mass and it can be a "generic model" if you don't want/can't categorize it. I use them for anything from schemmatic building shapes to complicated bulkhead/soffit assemblies, but you need to apply something to it to have an object shaped like it. I think the material application to a mass is just for working visibility...I use a glass because it helps me "see" it all. That way you can show the mass how you want whenever you need to edit the shape and re-apply your objects. A true "mass" should be treated more like a 3D modelling guideline than an object creator. The more experienced forum-posters can correct me if I'm wrong.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 8, 2007 at 3:37:34 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#4

laurabh


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 26, 2006
76 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


First of all, bauhaus is correct in that instead of creating a mass for a column, you should create a family for the column.  In-place families work (Modelling Tab -> Create...) and choose "Column" as the category, although it is usually best to create a separate component family so that is more flexible and can be used in other projects.

In regards to printing/visibility of masses, make sure that for every view you want to print, go to Visibility/Graphics and check on the Mass category - it is off by default in every view.  Masses have a transparent color by default.  Go to Settings -> Materials and look at the Transparency value under Shading.  0 is solid, 100 is completely transparent.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 at 7:22:11 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#5

anamoglam


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


I swear, sometimes I wanna just throw this program away.   Who has time to create families and import them with all the correct parameters when they can just sweep a profile.  And what if your trying to create a mass (family) that fits one particular opening, say... something weird like a rombus, and you just want to sweep a mass around the path of edges...  You have to create a new family, copy the opening into this family wall, set all kinds of parameters so the object will actually hopefully be the same shape or size you drew it when you insert back into the hopefullly same size hole you wanted.... I am trying to draw a diagram of window flashing with masses... Guess I will switch back to photoshop or google sketchup...  Revit has some REAL issues.

-----------------------------------
Bless yourself.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 at 8:01:56 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#6

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Well, there are times I'm in the same boat as you.  But you can create an in place family.  It pretty much works just like a massing, but it actually prints and you CAN add parameters to it.  I use the implace families for project specific items.  If I'm going to use the family in a future project, I'll create an actual family and load it into my file. 

 

But yes, REVIT can get frusterating and I get so aggrevated sometimes, but just think of AutoCAD and all the individual lines you had to draw, and for what?!  one single drawing, well crap you still have 4 more elevations to draw.  Revit saves you that hassle by being a BIM program.  Stick with it, trust me it's better Smile 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 28, 2008 at 8:19:56 PM | Mass Object Not Printing Correctly

#7

anamoglam


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Thank you Lorne  I will look into the in-place family!

-----------------------------------
Bless yourself.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

pdf printing problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jul 15, 2006 at 12:02:01 AM

2

printing mass elements

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 at 8:46:06 AM

8

Materials not printing correctly?!?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 9, 2007 at 2:48:07 PM

7

Making an object from solid mass...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 25, 2010 at 12:17:06 PM

3

Massing Printing Problem-solve (sort of)-Revit Architecture (2008)

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, Aug 24, 2007 at 8:15:20 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1625136

Objects:

22020

Forum Posts:

151631

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3480

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights