RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

257 Users Online (126 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Importing dwg as underlay

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Feb 9, 2012 at 5:03:00 AM | Importing dwg as underlay

#1

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


I have tried to import a dwg wall-roof section I already have into my Revit 2011 in a section view to use as an underlay but although it shows up in my vis/graph overides it will not show up in my wall section is there a way to bring it straight into my section easy. Its hard enough to move over from my ACA into Revit as it is without throwing away all my years of details aswell!!


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 9, 2012 at 1:41:02 PM | Importing dwg as underlay

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


A CAD DWG can be imported into any view but there is a difference between it being a detail import or a model import. 

 

If you import a DWG into a view and do not check the "current view only" box, then the CAD linework is basically 3D linework and is placed on the workplane of the view.  If you do check the box, then the linework is 2D and only visible in the current view (if not hidden by model elements).

 

Your question suggests that you did not check the box (and have probably made a mistake).  The reason why you can't see the CAD is that you are not looking at the same work plane or/and are not in the area where the CAD is.   If this is CAD detail work, then you should be checking the box.

 

I suggest you learn how to "revitize" your legacy CAD details.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 10, 2012 at 12:09:56 AM | Importing dwg as underlay

#3

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your input, but I still cannot get the detail into the view (section) & cannot find it in my drawing. It shows up as being there in my - vis/graph overrides - Imported Categories - along with 3 others that I have tried to import but have failed to see. This last time I ticked the box you suggested "current view only" but it did not appear. I also moved the model geometry to see if that was hiding it but could not see it.


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 10, 2012 at 1:23:50 AM | Importing dwg as underlay

#4

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Hey thanks again Hub

I found out what my problem (mistake) was!! The cad dwg had a 0,0,0 location a loooong way off the 2d detail.

So finding it in my Revit view was hard, but now I have a better understanding. Often its just one little detail that is difficult to over come, now as you said I will have to put some time into Revitising my volumious cad detailing, finding the time oh thats gonna be hard.


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, May 24, 2020 at 2:16:27 PM | Importing dwg as underlay

#5

AlanSmith


active

Joined: Mon, May 22, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Guys, sorry for bring this back but I'm having almost the same problem with linking in my dwg. However, unlike the OP, my cad file has everything at the correct coordinates (nothing at 0,0,0) I can link it in but can't see it(!) Anything else I can try?


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 24, 2020 at 5:05:57 PM | Importing dwg as underlay

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


Did you try a 3D view with a zoom E.  If nothing shows at all, then everyting is too small to be seen.  Window just the upper area then just the lower area to see what is in those locations.


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 25, 2020 at 3:37:41 AM | Importing dwg as underlay

#7

AlanSmith


active

Joined: Mon, May 22, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you WWHub. However, I zoomed extent and still only saw other things in my model as usual. Anything other idea please?


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 25, 2020 at 3:56:19 AM | Importing dwg as underlay

#8

AlanSmith


active

Joined: Mon, May 22, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Sorry I asked too soon! Just found the solution in this past thread: https://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=3987

Thanks anyway for your help!!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

not to see imported dwg on every level (after importing dwg)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 27, 2006 at 5:13:58 AM

4

import dwg to revit but cant underlay

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:24:18 AM

1

REVIT 2015 - Underlay: EXPORT?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 7:54:54 PM

7

Importing DWG with clipped blocks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 17, 2012 at 5:00:44 PM

2

Dwg Importing

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 4:12:09 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1464198

Objects:

21001

Forum Posts:

150947

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5903

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights