RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

152 Users Online (47 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 2:32:26 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#1

JRPcad


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2010
136 Posts
No Rating


don't suppose anyone knows why you can't have an opening cut and a void cut in the same family do they???

 

I know you can delete the opening and make a void, then have as many as you want, but a void never seems to work as good as an opening on mis-shaped walls.


-----------------------------------

For Architectural Services visit www.jrpcad.co.uk

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 2:47:54 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


That is correct - you can't have both in doors/windows.  So..... delete the opening cut and create your own opening using a void.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 3:35:38 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#3

JRPcad


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2010
136 Posts
No Rating


yeah that's what i do, but say for example on a curved wall, the opening cut will create an opening perpendicular to the wall where as a void cut will only work as you create it, in most cases, stay as a rectangular cut perpendicular to the window rather than the wall. if that makes sense.


-----------------------------------

For Architectural Services visit www.jrpcad.co.uk

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 4:11:52 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Sorry but you are wrong, the opening cut works just like your void would.  See attached simple wall with standard door.



Attached Images

102873_ScreenHunter01_Feb._08_11.08.gif

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 9:36:09 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#5

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


If you want the hole in the wall to taper, like a window opening might in a stone wall that you have been working on use a void blend wider on the outside narrower on the inside.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 9, 2012 at 8:22:06 AM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#6

JRPcad


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2010
136 Posts
No Rating


See attached Hub

 

This is what I meant, wall opening creating a perpendicular cut to the curve. This was a standard wall opening, i suppose i could create a sweep with a bit of good maths that followed the radius of the curve not sure how i'd go abot it but i'm sure i'll figure it out Winking



Attached Images

102907_Wall_opening_perpendicular_to_curve.jpg

-----------------------------------

For Architectural Services visit www.jrpcad.co.uk

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 9, 2012 at 1:19:16 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You are right.  A wall opening does cutthe wall perpindicular to the faces.  But you were initially talking about an opening cut in a family, which is something completely different than a wall opening.  You can not place an "opening" in a family.  That is a project system tool.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 4:58:52 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#8

andy777bennett


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 4, 2012
67 Posts
No Rating


it is not letting me delete the cut... im in revit 2013. Ideas?


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 5:10:51 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#9

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 35 Votes


What is a 'cut' exactly ? There are 'openings' and there are 'voids'. There is no 'cut' object that I know of.

 

There are Wall Hosted families and there are surface hosted familes. Both opeinings and voids remove material and it depends on if you are in the family editor or in a project. Let's please clarify all of that before any advise can be effectively provided.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 5:24:27 PM | dgcad

#10

andy777bennett


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 4, 2012
67 Posts
No Rating


Quoting dgcad from 2013-05-02 12:10:51

"

What is a 'cut' exactly ? There are 'openings' and there are 'voids'. There is no 'cut' object that I know of.

 

There are Wall Hosted families and there are surface hosted familes. Both opeinings and voids remove material and it depends on if you are in the family editor or in a project. Let's please clarify all of that before any advise can be effectively provided.

"

sorry, I did not explain. I have a "generic model" where I cannot delete the cut opening. Simple solution was to create a new generic model and copy paste my stuff into the new one with no cut opening. Now I can use my voids into the wall instead. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 7:29:16 PM | Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


andy, an explanation.

 

A void (has a specified x,y & z) - a model element used to form a void in specified model element(s) that they intersect.  May be in a family or in the model.  A hosted family may contain a void that will cut the host.

 

An opening(has  - no depth)  -a project system and hosted family tool to cut openings in hosted walls, roofs, slabs and faces.  An opening cut is an opening in a hosted family -a special default family element available in wall based window and door elements. A family with an opening cut can not also have a void.

 

A family based opening or void should always be avilable for deletion.  Yours may be in a nested family


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Using a void to create an opening in a swept blend?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 5:03:28 AM

1

Can't get VOID to cut my countertops... [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 at 7:41:44 PM

17

Void Won't Cut Extrusion

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 13, 2013 at 5:04:26 PM

10

Cut a Void out of i.e. 2x12 Roof If your EXPOSED Rafter tails are 6,8 etc.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 6, 2008 at 3:16:45 PM

4

VOID FORM says there is no geometry to cut.... [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 17, 2008 at 6:52:27 PM

19

Site Stats

Members:

1779605

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151940

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6530

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights