RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

181 Users Online (69 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 7, 2012 at 4:52:08 AM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#1

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


Anyone else had any cooling problems while rendering? I just built a new system. Asus Sabertooth X58 MB 1366 I7 3.20 ghz, 24 gigs RAM, ATI Radeon HD 6950, its all in a Thermaltake case that has a built in liquid cooling system. So the processor is being liquid cooled. I first put it together with the stock air cooling that came with the processor. Fired up MAX and I kid you not...8 seconds into the rendering the processor was already at temp threshold!! So I cancelled the rendering as quickly as possible and shut the whole thing down and hooked up the liquid cooling to it. Now it does better, but if it is rendering more than like 20-30 minutes it will heat up to like 90 degrees C. That is far hotter than I like. I am running Revit Arch 2012 and 3DS Max Design 2012. My Max renderings are usually architectural interior renderings with plenty artificial lighting and so forth, so my renderings are fairly demanding on the PC. Just wondered if anyone else has encountered similar problems? I am taking my system in tomorrow morning to the computer shop so they can try to diagnose it. Trying to figure out if I got faulty hardware or if I am going to have to shell out a bunch more cash for a kick curse external cooling system. So I will be on my laptop for a couple days...hope not too long though, my clients want renderings!! Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appretiated, thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 7, 2012 at 6:49:29 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#2

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


You should probably talk to the manufacturer of the components you assembled about this. Most of us are doing renderings that can take several hours. And my computer gets very warm although I have not known what the temperature of the machine internals are. Maybe we are better off not knowing. Let us know what the outcome is.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 7, 2012 at 9:12:04 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#3

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


is your i7 a 900 series or 2600 series? overclocked?

 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 7, 2012 at 11:23:04 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#4

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


Alabaster2513: it is a 900 series "I7-960" No, I do not overclock either. Hopefully the computer shop will call here shortly with a verdict..


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 2:23:33 AM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#5

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


The verdict is in...not a cheap solution though. Basically, the internal liquid cooling that I have is insufficient, so it has to go. The northbridge on this particular board runs VERY hot (about 90 degrees C), so it needs to be liquid cooled as well. I found an external cooling system that I will be ordering tomorrow for I think $250.00 that will have a large cooling tower with a water block for the cpu, video card and the northbridge. I currently also have 1 1TB drive on this machine and they suggested buying another so I can set up the RAID. I will pick up my computer tomorrow and throw some more money at it and then should have a fairly kick curse machine.

For anyone here reading this that is considering getting one of these Asus Sabertooth X58 Boards: BE WARNED, the Northbridges run very hot! You will either have to dedicate a good fan to it or run liquid cooling. It is a very nice board with the exception of the northbridge.

Thanks to all who tried helping. If nothing else, maybe this post will help someone else in their situation.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 5:56:10 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#6

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


unfortunately you would have been much better off with the gen2 sandybridge


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 6:01:05 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#7

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


caution on the raid, if they get out of sinc, which they will eventually, then you will probably lose all. I would recommend haveing a second drive like you plan, and saving all your models and docs etc. to it using, Sync Toy, which is free Microsoft. I save my desktop, which is where I have all my working files, no need to save all the software. Which is in my case 50% or more of the space on my hard disk.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 6:08:47 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#8

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


i've always liked raid 0 performance but its playing russian roullete (sp?) with your data. At this point its just easier to go solid state


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 6:33:40 PM | Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

#9

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


alabaster, I like the idea of solid state, especially the speed factor however, my friend recently, had one go bad. Now I am not so sure. Think they are less prone to problems then hard drives, no moving parts.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 9:06:28 PM | mbsteve

#10

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


Quoting mbsteve from 2012-02-08 12:01:05

"

caution on the raid, if they get out of sinc, which they will eventually, then you will probably lose all. I would recommend haveing a second drive like you plan, and saving all your models and docs etc. to it using, Sync Toy, which is free Microsoft. I save my desktop, which is where I have all my working files, no need to save all the software. Which is in my case 50% or more of the space on my hard disk.

"

 

 

I was actually planning on running either RAID 0 or 1 (1 has been suggested) mirror, but also backing up nightly to my external drive. I believe I should basically be double backed up. At this point in time it doesnt look like I am doing either because my particular drive isnt in stock anywhere! The RAID should not go out of sync as long as the drives are matched. I intend on getting another drive exactly like my current. Problem right now is supply and demand. Supply is low and demand is high, which I assume is what is driving the prices quite high, so I may wait a few months...

 

 

Probably yes on the sandybridge thing, but I thoink that one was major expensive and I just didnt want to go quite that far...yet.

Edited on: Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 4:24:21 PM

Edited on: Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 4:24:50 PM



Edited on: Thu, Feb 9, 2012 at 8:35:36 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

problems with Revit 2013 in 3ds Max!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 10:25:44 PM

13

Why Can't My Computer Complet A Rendering

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Apr 16, 2010 at 6:06:14 PM

7

Revit to 3ds max rendering with backburner

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 10:01:19 PM

1

Best Reference to Rendering Revit Models in 3DS Max

Workflow & Implementation >> Training

Mon, Oct 31, 2011 at 4:00:38 PM

4

revit rendering... 3d max?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 10:56:44 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1781283

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151951

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8140

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights