RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

189 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Detail Set-up - callout or duplicate...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Feb 6, 2012 at 2:49:03 PM | Detail Set-up - callout or duplicate...

#1

mhostetler


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 15, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


I'm looking for a better way to set up details.  Generally I do it one of 2 ways.  Say I have a completed wall section (with cut profiles, filled regions, linework) at .5" = 1' and I want to draw a parapet detail at 1.5" = 1'.  I could...

 

a) Draw a new callout around the parapet and do the detail at 1.5".  But this means I have to either copy and paste all my detail info from the wall section to the new detail or draw it all again, plus my new detail work for the larger scale drawing.  Or...

b) Duplicate the wall section with detailing, then just change the scale and crop region of my new drawing and add more detail items at the larger scale.  But now I have to go back to the wall section and callout the parapet and reference the new duplicate view. It seems like a bit of a hassle, but at the moment this is what I prefer. 

So is there a way to draw that callout initially AND bring with it all the detail information?  Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 6, 2012 at 2:58:33 PM | Detail Set-up - callout or duplicate...

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


You do know that the copy / paste is handled in one operation - correct? 

How much easier do you want this?  Takes all of a minute or two.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 6, 2012 at 3:09:13 PM | Detail Set-up - callout or duplicate...

#3

mhostetler


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 15, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


You're right that a copy/paste itself is not a long procedure.  But when you do it for 30 times for plan/section details, that time adds up.  Now factor in duplicating cut profiles, and it seems that you're duplicating a lot of work.  With a program this smart, it seems that there should be way to duplicate all of your detail work at the moment you create the callout--it's just 2 procedures rolled into 1 command.  


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 6, 2012 at 3:24:54 PM | Detail Set-up - callout or duplicate...

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Copy paste same place works for all 2D work including section cut profiles.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

can Callout duplicate detailed drawn on section view?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 4, 2012 at 4:05:02 PM

4

Detail callout vs. Floor plan callout

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 2, 2009 at 5:03:39 PM

2

Detail callout head size variable?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 6, 2019 at 10:26:35 PM

1

Duplicate views create duplicate callout tags in referring views...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 9, 2012 at 7:37:25 PM

1

Callout Detail Occurs @ Multiple Locations. Anyway to place detail bubbles...?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 21, 2010 at 3:09:24 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1567746

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6100

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights