RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

346 Users Online (175 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> Video Card Recommendation?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jan 29, 2012 at 5:32:27 AM | Video Card Recommendation?

#1

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


I am in the process of building a new system here. I am currently running Revit Architecture 2012 and 3DS Max 2012. I do custom home design and am doing all modeling out of Revit and all renderings out of Max. My clients are getting more and more interested in the different lighting and advanced rendering/walkthrough stuff that I can do with Max. My current system lags quite a bit with max. What I am considering is an Asus "sabertooth X58" 1366 board with the I-7 950 3.02 ghz. processor, probably 12 gigs of triple channel memory, but I really dont know what I should do about a video card. I currently have an Ati HD 5700. Any recommendations? I do some fairly heavy renderings and walkthrough;s etc. ANy advice would be greatly appretiated, thanks.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 3:53:34 AM | Video Card Recommendation?

#2

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


i have an ati radeon hd6950 2gig twin frozr II Card in my i7 2600k 3.4GHz, 16 gig ram machine.

Windows experience 5.9 running win7 64 bit.

doesnt like acceleration turned on, it wont regenerate the ribbon or the green blank space next to the ribbon satifactorily.

acceleration turned off , all works ok.

cheers

mansell


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 5:13:22 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#3

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


mansell sounds like a dirver problem with your machine. also I'd upgrade to a solid state hard drive since your 5.9 is becuase you probably have a 7200 rpm hard drive.

 

i would recommend the 2nd generation i7 over a 950 and have personally been fond of the nvidia cards over the years. i cant remember the exact model but theres a geforce out right now with 3 gb  mem for fairly cheap. or if you have the budget I would go with an nvidia quadro series, they are super nice but..... not vital.



Edited on: Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 11:14:28 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 11:16:54 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#4

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


It seems you will be doing a great deal of rendering. Have you considered Autodesk Cloud Rendering? If you have an Autodesk subscription, you'll save a lot on your upgrade.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 4:21:01 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#5

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


Sorry, have been offline for a bit computer building.

What I wound up doing is I bought the Asus Sabertooth X58 MB, Intel I-7 960@3.20 ghz., 24 gigs Corsair Vengeance RAM (it was the best deal), XFX Radeon 6950 2 gig card (primary) XFX Radeon 4890 (secondary). The big prob now, I get 10 seconds into a MAX rendering it pumps my cpu to 100 degrees C!! My other system I had the liquid cooling hooked up. I was going to try to cool with the stock heat sink & fan this time, but apparently that isnt going to work. I have to go and order new coolant which is why I was trying the air cooled in the first place. Do these 1366's run hotter than the 1156's? I find it interesting that it runs at around 50 degrees C, and the second you try to render it doubles the temp and blows right past the threshold. I got the rendering cancelled fast enough to avoid damage to the cpu.

mhans: I really dont know anything about "autodesk cloud rendering"...maybe its another thing I need to learn?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 4:31:56 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#6

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


cloud rendering is still kind of bleh, you dont get a lot of options. you cant adjust lighting so photometric lights kind of blow out your scene. its too bad you went with the ATI cards, if you bought nvidia you could render to your GPU with iRay using the CUDA cores in your cards and not even have to use the CPU for rendering. Nothing better cooling shouldnt solve though.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 4:47:55 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#7

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


Not being able to adjust photometric lights etc. would be a big problem for me here. I do a lot of that. This card seems to do just fine...maybe nvidia is better, I dont know. I have the Hardware Acceleration on and havent noticed anything with my ribbons etc. so at least I dont have that problem...just cant render :-( Oh well...I will hook my liquid cooling back up. Everybody kept telling me that as long as I wasnt trying to overclock it, air cooled would be just fine...HAH...NOT.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 4:56:36 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#8

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


mansell5: are you by chance running dual monitors with your 6950? I couldnt figure out how to get the dual monitors to work with mine so I put one of out older cards in to run the 2nd monitor. I tried just about everything and it would not work. My primary monitor is hooked up via HDMI and the second is DVI. I know I did do it with my old card no problem (Radeon HD 5770).



Edited on: Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 11:45:33 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 5:57:48 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#9

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


mansell5: are you by chance running dual monitors with your 6950? I couldnt figure out how to get the dual monitors to work with mine so I put one of out older cards in to run the 2nd monitor. I tried just about everything and it would not work. My primary monitor is hooked up via HDMI and the second is DVI.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2012 at 12:45:44 AM | Video Card Recommendation?

#10

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


treeves , no im not running dual monitors with this card.

even though it says you can run 4 monitors i couldnt get it to work more than 1.

quit frustrating this ati radeon 6950 2 gig twin frozrII card.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2012 at 8:31:29 AM | Video Card Recommendation?

#11

treeves1968


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
51 Posts
No Rating


mansell5: Yeah, I am not sure if I am totally happy with the card either. Although it seems to do just fine in Revit & MAX.

Havent tried any games on it yet. I really didnt want to run a second card just for my secondary monitor, but I dont think I could live without 2 monitors!! Luckily we had an older card here...its not super old ATI HD 4890 I believe. Havent had any issues with the ribbon etc. Thanks for your responses and insight...


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 3, 2012 at 12:52:33 AM | Video Card Recommendation?

#12

Jamie351


active
Jamie351 Avatar

Joined: Mon, May 23, 2011
124 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


I just got a Nvidia 9800GT 1GB and that runs 2 monitors +1 via usb to vga and I got that ages ago.

Id go dual cards way to go


-----------------------------------

Revit 2018........

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 7, 2014 at 11:50:10 PM | Video Card Recommendation?

#13

mikefoster


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Nice impressive rig, surely high end games are perfect for that. Maybe need more saving to have that one.


-----------------------------------

'visit us at iphysicsgames.com"

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

looking for a video card recommendation

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Sep 3, 2013 at 12:04:52 PM

7

Video Card

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 10, 2010 at 5:44:50 PM

1

Revit 2010 Video Cards

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 8, 2009 at 7:36:13 AM

6

better video card = better rendering? (revit architecture 2009)

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 at 2:36:49 AM

4

unknown video card

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 4:32:12 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1652340

Objects:

22103

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1532

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights