RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

204 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Families with multiple Options

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Tue, Jan 24, 2012 at 10:01:34 PM | Families with multiple Options

#1

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

 

I have created a door family with 3no. Options using Yes/No parameters to determine which option displays at any one time. Each Option is referenced to an 'Integer' parameter which I named "Choose Option". The Options are 1, 2 and 3. As an option is selected the the Yes/No box checks accordingly making so only that option visible. This is all working fine.

What I want to achieve is to limit the options to 1 - 3 or cause any numbers other than 1 - 3 to return a value of 1 or 3. To resolve this I created an additional Integer parameter and input the following formula: "if(Choose Option < 1, 1, if(Choose Option > 3, 3, Choose Option))". This works in controlling the parameter numbers e.g. if I select '0' the option returns to 1 or if I select '4' the option returns to 3. but this parameter is not connected to the original option so is working independently with no affect to the family.

Can anyone tell me how I would connect the parameter if at all possible or give me an alternative work around please. I have attached an image for referernce.

 

Thanks,

Peter


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 6:34:09 PM | Families with multiple Options

#2

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


No image attached. Are you going to market this or would be internally available? You can always give guidelines on how to use a particular family and avoid a great deal on formulas/parameters.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 7:24:25 PM | Families with multiple Options

#3

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


Hi, Thanks for your reply. I've tried attaching the image three times but it isn't working. It's only 238kb so not a size issue. When I have the families working perfectly and to a professional standard I intend marketing them. I'm not sure what you mean by available internally, where is internally? I'm also not sure what you mean about giving guidelines on how to use a particular family to avoid a great deal on formulas/parameters, who do you mean give guidelines too and how would I avoid formulas and parameters by doing so?

Thanks,

 

Peter 

 

 

No image attached. Are you going to market this or would be internally available? You can always give guidelines on how to use a particular family and avoid a great deal on formulas/parameters.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 7:36:28 PM | Families with multiple Options

#4

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Available internally means for your office use. But since its for commercial use, either you give an instruction on how to use options in your family with a text instruction that the end-user can delete later or make the text invisible when load in a project (see sample family). With the guidelines/instruction the User will be acquainted with what your family can do before he/she loads it to his project.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 7:37:54 PM | Families with multiple Options

#5

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Here's the attached.



Attached Images

102210_Guide.png

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 7:57:45 PM | Families with multiple Options

#6

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


Hi, Thanks for your reply. I've tried attaching the image three times but it isn't working. It's only 238kb so not a size issue. When I have the families working perfectly and to a professional standard I intend marketing them. I'm not sure what you mean by available internally, where is internally? I'm also not sure what you mean about giving guidelines on how to use a particular family to avoid a great deal on formulas/parameters, who do you mean give guidelines too and how would I avoid formulas and parameters by doing so?

Thanks,

 

Peter 

 

 

No image attached. Are you going to market this or would be internally available? You can always give guidelines on how to use a particular family and avoid a great deal on formulas/parameters.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 11:16:55 PM | Families with multiple Options

#7

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


...as there are three options within the family I have an integer parameter which allows the user to click 1, 2 or 3 and the family changes to reflect the chosen option. The end user can clearly see the choices once the family is selected and choose the option they desire.

 

If however, the end user selects a number other than the available options 1, 2, or 3 such as 0 or 4 the geometry will will disappear. What I want to do is add a parameter to tell Revit if 0 is selected make it 1 or if 4 or greater is  is selected make it 3. Effectively using a basic Less than and greater than formula as metioned above. 

 

I have created the parameter and assigned a formula which works but I am not sure where if possible I would connect this formulaa to the Choose option integer. Mybe it is not possible. 

 

I have attempted to attach the image again; File Attachments, Choose File, image loaded and the name is visible. Lets see of it loads when I choose Submit.

 

Thanks Peter

 

 

Available internally means for your office use. But since its for commercial use, either you give an instruction on how to use options in your family with a text instruction that the end-user can delete later or make the text invisible when load in a project (see sample family). With the guidelines/instruction the User will be acquainted with what your family can do before he/she loads it to his project.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 11:36:12 PM | Families with multiple Options

#8

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


What if instead of integer option you'll have a checkbox option to choose?



Attached Images

102263_option.png

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 25, 2012 at 11:50:05 PM | Families with multiple Options

#9

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


I think I see where your problem is. You're on the right track, you're just missing linking the two parameters. You'll need two integer parameters (I'll call them Param1 and Param2).

Param1 is what the user interacts with.

Param2 is what actually controls the yes/no parameters. This is also where your greater than/less than formula will be used. The trick is, in the formula tell it to look at Param1 instead of Param2.

So, this goes in the formula for Param2 'if(Param1 < 1, 1, if(Param1 > 3, 3, Param1))'


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 at 5:55:12 PM | Families with multiple Options

#10

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your responce mhans,

I set up the Yes/No parameter for the three options, I could only get switch between two Yes/No parameters. The idea is to check one box and the others uncheck. When I introduced a third option the third check had to be switched off manually. This is why I set up an integer parameter to select one of the three options by clicking 1, 2 or 3. Do you know a way to set up the Yes/No parameter so when clicking "Option 1" the other two options switch off?

Hi Tkennedy, thanks for your reply. My original posting tried adding that formula to a second integer parameter, please see my original posting. Unfortunately my images aren't uploading so you didn't get to see the screen shot. It dosen't work for me, the second integer with the formula changes alright as I change the options, when I click 0 or 4 the formula works and constrains the numbers as expected to 1 or 3. The problem is the Yes/No check boxes clear so none are checked at all then.

I would expect the numbers 1,2 or 3 would be checked but they all clear as soon as 0 or 4 is input. The formula driven integer remains at 3 when number options increase to 4 or above and remains at 0 if the number options decrease to 0 or below. 

 

I have attached the image again, if it uploads you can see the result not working. 

 

Cheers,

 

Peter

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 at 6:02:54 PM | Families with multiple Options

#11

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


Sorry, the images aren't uploading. Maybe I need support on uploading an image before formula driven familiesSmile 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 at 6:10:44 PM | Families with multiple Options

#12

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


Download "Jing". It's free & will help you capture your screen.


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 at 7:22:17 PM | Families with multiple Options

#13

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


See attached images.

User Control is the parameter the user will interact with. Parameter Control is what the Y/N parameters read, and is tied to User Control.



Attached Images

102323_params1.png102323_params2.png

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 at 9:05:06 PM | Families with multiple Options

#14

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


I got hung up on using two integer parameters like you were trying, so it didn't occure to me that you can easily do it with just one. Basically, split up your greater than/less than formula, and put it in the formulas for the Y/N parameters. See the attached image.



Attached Images

102325_params3.png

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 at 4:49:18 PM | Families with multiple Options

#15

designimpressions


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
47 Posts
No Rating


Thanks TKennedy,

 

I have tried the process you suggested several times but when I input 0 or 4 in the User Parameter, the Yes/No check boxes completely clear so none are checked. If I input 1, 2 or 3 they check accordingly. I know the formula works because I can see the numbers updating in the Formula value field, i.e. if I input 4 the formula defaults to 3 or if I input 0 the formula defaults to 1. The problem I have is not with the formula but that it dosen't connect to the check boxesSmile 

However, I tried it out in a blank family template and it worked fine so now I know the process works but I still have the problem in the family I'm working on. 

I'll keep trying,

 

Thanks Peter


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Grouping multiple families types with multiple options

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 11, 2012 at 8:50:19 PM

6

Multiple Design Options in One View

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 15, 2014 at 6:20:58 PM

2

Multiple design options - glitch?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 23, 2014 at 2:24:32 PM

4

Using revit for tract homes with multiple options/elevations

Community >> The Studio

Tue, May 16, 2006 at 10:07:51 PM

3

Inserting multiple Families causes project to freeze

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 11, 2008 at 8:28:40 AM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1650523

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8787

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights