RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

174 Users Online (61 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Levels missing Revit 2012

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 11:39:57 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#1

Sirideon


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2011
4 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Hello,

My Levels are visually missing from my project.  I have checked each view in the project and verified my crop view extents, my VG settings, revealed hidden elements, and have searched this forum for a solution - but I'm still lost.

In an Elevation view I can insert new levels and they appear, but the existing (4) levels never appear.

Any advice?

Thank you.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 12:04:12 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


You don't have those plan views in your project browser?

Go to View > Plan Views > Floor Plan



Attached Images

101159_plan.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 1:01:02 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


From your HELP:>

Datum planes, such as those for levels, grids, and reference planes are not visible in all views. If the datum does not intersect a view’s plane (or does not intersect the plane in the correct way), then it will not be visible in that view.

Datum planes are modifiable. You can resize their extents so that they are visible in some views, but not others. You can also change datum extents in one view and then propagate that change to any desired parallel views in which the datum is visible.

You can also use scope boxes to control visibility of datum.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 8:06:44 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#4

Sirideon


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2011
4 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Thank You.

*Typhoon: No, I do not have level lines in any views.

*WWHub:  My datum planes are not visible anywhere in the model or views.  I understand that they need to intersect a view range, but I cannot locate them - anywhere - to perform that task. 

(I attempted a 'Scope Box' prior to my original message to attach the datum planes, but they still do not become visible in order to attach them.)

How would a datum plane "not intersect the plane in the right way"?

Thanks again.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 8:20:06 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Cut a section each way and look for the planes there.  Also, be sure you don't crop the view and you zoom extends.  I bet they are out of view. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 9:21:45 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#6

lakeland1


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 29, 2011
1 Posts
No Rating


I am having the same problem, All of my levels show up in my elevations , but when I switch to a 3d preview there are only the original 2 levels I started with. I have my constraints set to the top level, but still no extended walls in 3d.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 9:32:37 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Levels do not show in 3D so I don't understand "....but when I switch to a 3d preview there are only the original 2 levels".


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 10:22:20 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#8

Sirideon


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2011
4 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Thank You.

*WWHub: Your idea to cut sections (un-cropped and zoomed to extents) to search for datum planes is good, but it still did not produce the level lines.

I don't know what could have happened to them.  Once again, if I create a new level, new datum planes appear in appropriate views - it is the existing levels only that are causing trouble.

**This mystery might not be solved: is there any other viable way to enter/change elevation heights for my (roof and floor) levels?

Thanks for all of your time!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 5, 2012 at 8:02:14 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#9

Sirideon


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2011
4 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


I am following up with this post: WWHub's advice to cut a section across the entire model space worked.  The building elements and families must have been moved (by another) from the original position.  I had to cut a series of sections out in "space" on the site plan view once I estimated the original location.  Finally a section revealed my datum lines!  I can now adjust my floor/roof heights - and of course finish the set for permit.

Thanks!

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jun 9, 2013 at 1:11:56 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#10

booyeth


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 14, 2011
1 Posts
No Rating


I also encounter the same problem, here's what you have to do. Create Scope on plan views, then go to your Section or Elevation. From there create a new LEVEL, then SELECT the LEVEL>>RIGHT CLICK>>ALL INSTANCE>>ENTIRE PROJECT. Under the Properties>Scope Box>>Select the Scope Box you've created earlier...


-----------------------------------

[Acidburn]

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 11:20:11 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#11

wallking


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 20, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I may say something stupid, but I had the same problem with an inherited file and ran through different solutions. Aparently the problem was that the "hidden" level was represented by a very short line oddly placed far away from the model.

Smile


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 21, 2014 at 2:21:45 AM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#12

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


maybe you have the view settings set to show only "new", not complete, or something. so that in 3d it only shows existing, not new, or new but not existing. check that one. gets me everytime, when I start a project. 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 4:20:33 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#13

AnaVg


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 2, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I just had the same problem, and not even propagate extents worked. I did a huge diagonal section until the level reappeared, as WWHub said. Then extended the level line.

Thanks for the post!

AE


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 5:25:21 AM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#14

mattdinardo450


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


(For a new template in 15') I had my levels appear in only one of my four elevations. The only difference i found was in the clipping. Set your clipping extent to a much larger distance OR, set your clipping to "No Clip".

 

Hope that's helpful.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 1, 2015 at 9:10:36 PM | Levels missing Revit 2012

#15

husam3


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 11, 2011
39 Posts
No Rating


I have the same issue!! I have tried all the sulution in this post,nothing work for me,also when I tried to create levels and named it,revit wont let me I got the massage said there is already the same name and level? what do you think guys?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Levels are missing - I tried all solutions on forums no result

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 30, 2013 at 4:57:43 PM

2

Where have my templates gone in 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 7, 2012 at 2:09:06 PM

9

Section Tags missing (again)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 3:50:38 PM

3

Revit 2012 - Sections

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Sun, Apr 7, 2013 at 11:48:43 PM

7

Multiple Levels..Many Multiple levels..

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Sat, Jan 22, 2005 at 1:06:26 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1551496

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151403

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7117

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights