RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

336 Users Online (153 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 4:50:20 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#1

ml22


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


Using Revit Architecure 2012:

We have a standard titleblock with shared parameters for most of the information, and it's working fine in most of my projects.  I have one project where none of the parameters seems to be linking.  I've tried removing and re-adding the parameters, and deleting and reloading the titleblock family, without success.

What could be wrong?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 4:54:34 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Are they really the same shared parameters?  Name doesn't mean anything.  I would make sure they are.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 5:33:11 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#3

ml22


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


Shared Parameters > Edit Shared Parameters > Shared parameter file: lists the same file in the same location as the file listed in the projects where everything works.  Anything else to check?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 5:45:42 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


That doesn't mean it is the same file.  That is just the current shared parameter file you are using.

 

Just a simple test.  Try a new file using your template - this titleblock and your titleblock that works in other files.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 5:52:16 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I just thought some more about what you are doing. 

 

How is your titleblock created?  The shared parameter is not loaded as a parameter.  You simple add a label that points to your shared parameter file.  Look at the titleblock that works and see if your new one is built the same.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 6:23:01 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#6

ml22


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


The titleblocks are the same between projects.  To be sure, I could open a project where the TB works, open the TB with the family editor, and load it into my problem project, right?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 7:00:40 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


That might answer the question and might not.  That is why I wanted you to use a new project.  To see if both titleblocks worked in it.  Give them different names even if they are the same.  Trying to verify that your project parameters match your titleblock ones.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 8:35:13 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#8

ml22


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


The problematic TB did not pick up the parameter values in the test project.

Neither did the TB from the project where everything works fine.

What does that mean?

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 24, 2011 at 2:26:34 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


How did you set the project parameters in this project.   Obvously something is wrong with your template.  Its parameters are not the same.  You need to get both your project and your titleblock using the same parameters.  Again - as I said, name doesn't mean they are the same. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 3:54:28 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#10

ml22


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


How do I get them using the same parameters?  I've tried deleting the old ones and loading new from the shared parameter file.  What am I doing wrong?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 4:05:08 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Read this topic in your HELP:>   Exporting Shared Parameters to a Shared Parameter File

 

Also read this:>  Viewing, Moving, and Deleting Shared Parameters 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 4:21:07 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#12

ml22


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply.  In the meantime I've unloaded and reloaded the parameters from both the project and the family, and they're working again.  Pain in the A, though.  Still don't know why they un-linked in the first place.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 4:31:23 PM | Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


They didn't unlink, the problem is somewhere in your process.  I suggest you read the Help files I posted.  This issue is confusing to many new users.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Drawn By and Checked By titleblock parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 11, 2008 at 3:43:12 AM

2

Titleblock Parameters [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 9:57:53 PM

17

How to link shared family parameters into an assembly titleblock?

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Apr 20, 2015 at 1:14:15 PM

4

Title Block Specific Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 20, 2011 at 12:15:37 PM

1

Project Information Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 27, 2010 at 10:31:45 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1655396

Objects:

22113

Forum Posts:

151698

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 12.7279

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights