RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

203 Users Online (59 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall Join Options Disappear

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 2:50:31 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#16

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I have tried hard to re-create your problem and can not under normal instances.  I can absolutly say, creating a central file has nothing to do with this except if the file has somehow become corrupted.

 

The only time I see that you can edit a join:

  1. One of the walls has wall joins turned off
  2. One wall is in a different design option
  3. You cannot join or unjoin an editable wall to a non-editable wall if that would change the shape of the non-editable wall.
  4. You cannot join an editable wall to the end of a non-editable wall. Revit keeps the walls close together but does not join them and issues a warning.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 4:26:45 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#17

Badkube


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 30, 2012
10 Posts
No Rating


Hi Matheus,  

 

The only way I can get a similar result is if I have the join tool active and then hover over the wall in question but don't actually click on it but I feel I'm maybe insulting your intellience to even suggest this..

 

However I can't see anything else that would cause this to happen. Fundamentally I don't think there is anything wrong with your approach it's just odd behaviour..

 

If you copy the walls in question out into a clean project does the same issue still exist?



Edited on: Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 11:44:23 AM

Attached Images

118925_Wall_Cleanup.png

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 5:09:37 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#18

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I think it may be a non-editable wall issue.  You created worksets and one wall or both is in a non-editable workset.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:00:08 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#19

matheusdiniz


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 17, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Badkube,

when i pasted the walls in a new project they worked fine. I even tried pasting them back to the original file, but there the problem persisted.

WW,

if it is a workset problem, there would be a warning of some sort, no? i mean, when i tried working as a different user, it said i didn't have permission to edit and to ask the original user. After going back to my user and granting editing permission to the second user, I went back and tried to edit the join and it was gray...

I tried working on the central file but the same problem happened.

is there a way to make it so everything is in the same workset after the creation of the central file? this is my first project using colaborations and I am still learning how it works. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:08:26 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#20

matheusdiniz


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 17, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Badkube and WW,

It is a worset problem somehow. When i detached the local file i have from the central and chose not to keep the worsets the edit join tool worked again. Is there a way to fix this without detaching the file, doing the changes and making a new central file?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:09:26 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#21

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


The workset you are working in is displayed at the bottom of the view.  Learn to be aware of that.

 

You can use any view to mange what worksets items are on.  I like 3D.  In VG, I would turn off all worksets but the one in question and see what is left.  If something belongs on a different workset - change the properties.

 

When someone first enables worksets or creates a new workset, they own it.  You can relinquish all to free that up under the save to central process.  I suggest you learn to look at who owns what by using the collaborate tab/click on worksets.  Note that there are several items controlled by worksets.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:17:07 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#22

matheusdiniz


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 17, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


WW,

both walls belong to workset 1.it should work if they are on the same worset, shouldn't it? what else can I be doing wrong? 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:27:25 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#23

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


It will not work if the items are not editable.  Look at who owns the workset.  In most cases, nobody should own worksets - just borrow them.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:47:00 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#24

matheusdiniz


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 17, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Both items are borrowed and editable.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 7:11:48 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#25

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


OK.... This is not at all normal.  It appears that you are working correctly unless you are working in a Design Option.  We have been using worksets for many years and this is a stable, predictable process.  Maybe, something is wrong with your file.  Maybe, something is wrong with your program.  I don't believe you said what version you are working in but you should always check to make sure that you are in the latest build - have all updates installed.

 

Then if your build is latest, you send the project to AutoDESK and have them look at the problem.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 7:20:37 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#26

matheusdiniz


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 17, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Hi WWHub,

I'll do that then. My version is 2013, in the meantime I'll detach the file and recreate the worksets after making the changes.

Thank both you and Badkube for all the help.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 8:45:22 PM | Wall Join Options Disappear

#27

Badkube


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 30, 2012
10 Posts
No Rating


Hi Matheus, Work sets aren't something I have much experience of but if you do get to the bottom of the issue it would be good to hear exactly what it is. It's useful to know though that work sets can cause this type of issue.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Join Options Disappear - revit 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 3, 2014 at 4:13:29 PM

11

Wall join options

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 24, 2011 at 12:46:49 AM

10

Wall Join help - options not working [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 3:22:05 PM

16

Clean wall join

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 20, 2013 at 8:30:48 AM

11

90degree wall join

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 21, 2006 at 2:08:54 AM

10

Site Stats

Members:

1664531

Objects:

22111

Forum Posts:

151711

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0864

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights